Corona-Info: We're still shipping within the EU and most parts of the world, exceptions apply -> all info

ALMANAC

“It is the thirst of blood that leads the audience to the arena”

Few artists have left their mark upon the pairing of an electric guitar and orchestra quite like Victor Smolski. For more than 15 years, the guitar wizard from the very heart of Belarus shaped the sonic tapestry of RAGE before finally starting his own project ALMANAC. There – no surprises here – he continued working on the perfect amalgamation of metal and classical music, spiced with enthralling historic themes.

After establishing ALMANAC as an uprising metal force with his first two records “Tsar” (2016) and “Kingslayer” (2018), Smolski boldly reshaped the band, and is starting from pole position into what will be a very exciting heavy metal year. “We've been on the road a lot,” Smolski says of the last years. “So much, in fact, that some of our members couldn't make do. They parted ways with us amicably because they realized that we wanted to go for it full throttle. They couldn't do it which is why they gladly made room for what is now the strongest ALMANAC incarnation ever.”

Page of

ALMANAC in 2020 consists of musical director Victor Smolski (guitars, cello, sitar, piano, keyboards), vocal tag-team Patrick Sühl and Jeannette Marchewka, bass player Tim Rashid and drummer Kevin Kott, with GAMMA RAY bellower Frank Beck and growl god Marcel Junker adding additional vocal oomph. “Once again, this line-up change really propelled us onwards. Suddenly we had all the time we needed to rehearse, to experiment, to just be spontaneous. And somehow by accident,” he laughs, “we got way more heavy!”

He can say that again; after having spent one year on the road with this current line-up, playing everything from packed clubs to huge arenas, ALMANAC return usually bombastic and refined, yet surprisingly heavy, fast and aggressive. With more than 30 years in the world of heavy metal under his belt, Smolski of course has long established his signature style you instantly recognize – throbbing riffs, bombastic orchestration, versatile vocals. More than ever before, however, the third album is marrying the bandwidth between symphonic grandeur and choking impact. Almanac never sounded that heavy, that gripping, that precise.

They’ve never been this dynamic before, either: “Rush of Death” is a split album whose mid-section is dedicated to “Suite Lingua Mortis Part 2”, a direct sequel to the much revered metal-meets-orchestra spectacle found on RAGE's “Speak of the Devil” (2006). “I composed the first “Lingua Mortis Suite” with my father”, Smolski says. “A couple of years ago, I lost him, which put me in a very dark place. He was the central figure in my musical career and was always there for me. For a long time, I wasn't able to compose a single note. Now, however, is the time to continue this suite in his memory. With the same orchestra from Minsk, and in the same studio.”

Listening to ALMANAC going all in with the Inspector Symphony Orchestra and the Ensemble Virtuoso will enchant Smolski fans and avid RAGE followers alike. Simply no other metal band working with a huge orchestra manages to pull off such a direct and organic sound. No other metal band is spearheaded by Smolski however. “I don't wanna have a band in which everyone is just sitting around at home, sending demos to and fro,” he states. “I want to feel the songs in the rehearsal space. A song is only working on a record when it's working live.”

“Rush of Death” is not only the heaviest ALMANAC album yet; it's also the most contemporary. After a stint in Russian history and his gruesome hymns on murdered kings, Smolski is turning to the gladiators: The orchestrally driven mid-part is all about Ancient Rome's fabled fighters, the rest of the songs about their modern counterparts – racing drivers. “While the audience is getting one hell of a show, the drivers fight for life and death,” he says. “I am a racing driver for more than 25 years. I know what I'm talking about.”

Metal and a need for speed are his ultimate combination, backed up by a personal story; among lots of triumphs, Smolski was vice champion of the Division Supercars at the German Rallycross Championship 2018/2019, is 17-times class winner on the Nürburgring, Hockenheimring and Spa-Francorchamps and soldiered through the 24-hour race on Nürburgring a stunning 14 times. “I risked my life plenty of times, always asking myself afterwards how utterly idiotic I am. But adrenaline changes the way you think. When I put on my helmet, I am entering another world. The start button of my car is my reset button.”

Emotions rather similar to those behind the steering wheel take hold of him as soon as he enters a stage. “I entirely succumb to this energy, to this world. I am in the here and now, precisely in this very moment. Life behind the wheel and life on stage,” he says, “are equally intense.” His third record is finally uniting his two biggest passions. And both only follow one agenda: Pedal to the metal!

Corona-Info: Innerhalb der EU und in die meisten Teile der Welt liefern wir bis auf wenige Ausnahmen wie gewohnt ->alle Details

ALMANAC

„It is the thirst of blood that leads the audience to the arena“

Wenige Künstler haben die Liaison zwischen E-Gitarre und Orchester geprägt wie Victor Smolski. Mehr als 15 Jahre lang bestimmte der Gitarrenhexer aus Weißrussland das klangliche Erscheinungsbild von RAGE. Dann rief er sein eigenes Projekt ALMANAC ins Leben. Dort, soweit keine Überraschung, feilte er unermüdlich weiter an der nahtlosen Verschmelzung von Metal und Klassik, unterfüttert mit packender historischer Akkuratesse.

Nach dem Aufhorchen rund um die ersten beiden Platten „Tsar“ (2016) und „Kingslayer“ (2017) unterzog Smolski seine Band einer Generalüberholung. Und startet mit „Rush Of Death“ aus der Pole-Position ins Metal-Jahr 2020. „Wir waren sehr viel live unterwegs“, fasst Smolski die letzten Jahre zusammen. „So viel, dass manche von uns an ihre Grenzen gestoßen sind. Einige Mitglieder nahmen in Freundschaft ihren Hut, weil sie merkten, dass wir anderen Vollgas geben wollten. Das konnten sie nicht tun, also machten sie den Platz frei für das, was jetzt die stärkste ALMANAC-Besetzung ist, die wir je hatten.“

Seite von

ALMANAC im Jahr 2020, das ist der musikalische Direktor Victor Smolski (Gitarren, Cello, Sitar, Piano, Keyboards), das Sänger-Zweigestirn aus Patrick Sühl und Jeannette Marchewka, Basser Tim Rashid und Kevin Kott an den Drums. GAMMA-RAY-Röhre Frank Beck und Growl-Größe Marcel Junker bringen zusätzliche Stimmbandwucht ein. „Auch dieser Line-Up-Wechsel hat uns unglaublich nach vorn gebracht. Plötzlich hatten wir Zeit zum Proben, zum Experimentieren und für spontane Gelegenheiten. Und irgendwie“, lacht Smolski, „sind wir aus Versehen sehr viel härter geworden.“

Das kann er laut sagen: Nachdem er ein Jahr lang mit der jetzigen Besetzung auf Tournee war und vom kleinen Club bis zur großen Arena alles gespielt hat, was ihm in die Finger geriet, melden sich ALMANAC gewohnt bombastisch und ausgefeilt, vor allem aber knackig hart, schnell und aggressiv zurück. Nach über 30 Jahren hat Victor Smolski natürlich längst einen Signature-Stil, den man sofort erkennt – hartes Riffing, bombastische Orchestrierung, vielseitiger Gesang. Mehr denn je fällt auf dem dritten Album aber die große Bandbreite zwischen sinfonischer Pracht und erdrückender Wucht auf. Härter, zupackender, punktgenauer klangen ALMANAC nie.

Dynamischer auch nicht: „Rush Of Death“ ist ein zweigeteiltes Album, dessen Mittelteil aus der „Suite Lingua Mortis Part 2“ besteht, dem direkten Sequel zum gefeierten Metal-Orchester-Spektakel vom RAGE-Album „Speak Of The Dead“ (2006). „Die erste „Lingua Mortis“ Suite habe ich gemeinsam mit meinem Vater erschaffen“, so Victor. „Vor einigen Jahren verlor ich ihn, was mich in ein tiefes Loch stürzte. Er war sehr wichtig für meinen musikalischen Werdegang und stand mir immer mit Rat und Tat zur Seite. Lange konnte ich gar nichts komponieren. Doch jetzt ist es an der Zeit, diese Suite in Gedenken an ihn fortzusetzen. Mit demselben Orchester aus Minsk und in demselben Studio.“

Wie ALMANAC gemeinsam mit dem Inspector Symphony Orchestra und dem Ensemble Virtuoso Vollgas geben, wird jedem Smolski-Fan, aber auch jedem Anhänger der sinfonischen RAGE-Tage Freudentränen in die Augen treiben. So direkt und organisch klingt keine Metal-Band, die mit einem großen Orchester zusammenarbeitet. Zumindest keine, die nicht von Victor Smolski angeführt wird. „Ich will keine Band, bei der jeder nur zuhause sitzt und Demos durch die Gegend schickt“, stellt er klar. „Ich mag es, die Songs im Proberaum live zu spüren. Erst wenn ein Song live funktioniert“, ist er sich sicher, „ist er auch gut genug fürs Studio.“

„Rush Of Death“ ist nicht nur das härteste ALMANAC-Album. Es ist auch das modernste. Nach russischer Geschichte und den grausigen Hymnen auf gemeuchelte Könige wendet sich Smolski den Gladiatoren zu. Im orchestral unterlegten Mittelteil den sagenumwobenen Kämpfern im Alten Rom, in den übrigen Songs den Gladiatoren unserer Zeit – den Rennfahrern. „Für das Publikum ist es eine Mordsshow“, sagt er über den Motorsport. „Doch für die Fahrer ist es eine ernste Angelegenheit, bei der es um Leben und Tod geht. Ich bin seit über 25 Jahren professioneller Rennfahrer. Ich weiß, wovon ich spreche.“

Metal und Geschwindigkeitsrausch als ultimative Paarung, noch dazu mit persönlichem Hintergrund: Smolski war unter anderem Vizemeister in der Division Supercars bei der Deutschen Rallycross Meisterschaft 2018/2019, hat 17 Klassensiege auf Nürburgring, Hockenheimring oder in Spa-Francorchamps eingefahren und elfmal am 24-Stunden-Rennen auf dem Nürburgring teilgenommen. „Ich habe oft mein Leben riskiert und mich danach gefragt, wie bescheuert ich eigentlich bin. Doch in diesem Adrenalinrausch denkt man anders. Wenn ich den Helm aufsetze, bin ich in einer anderen Welt. Der Startknopf meines Wagens ist mein Resetknopf.“

Ganz ähnliche Emotionen durchlebt er, wenn er mit ALMANAC auf der Bühne steht. „Ich versinke vollkommen in dieser Energie und dieser Welt. Ich bin im Hier und Jetzt, genau in diesem Moment. Hinterm Steuer und auf der Bühne lebe ich sehr intensiv.“ Auf seinem dritten Album kommen seine beiden größten Leidenschaften endlich zusammen. Und für beide gilt: Pedal to the metal!