GRATUIT! Choisis avec ta commande: Tote bag ‘Black Metal’ ou Tour de Cou | min. de commande de 60 €¹



VOIVOD - Infini

Sortie le: 2009-06-12

Not many bands deserve to be labelled "legends", but VOIVOD are definitely one of these bands. The Canadian band from Montreal never had their commercial breakthrough but influenced legions of metal bands with their original sound, a sound that no band was ever able to copy - unique and special. VOIVOD are one of the bands which both fans and musicians have great respect for. Their fourteenth album (and first for Nuclear Blast in 2006), "Katorz" was finished under tragical circumstances: Piggy, legendary guitar player and founding member died of colon cancer in 2005 during the recording process. But it was his wish that "Katorz" would see the light of day. His guitar parts were already recorded on his laptop. He gave drummer Away some advice on how to find and use them. So the album was mainly put together around Piggy’s guitar parts. Three years later, "Infini" is released and features another share of his legacy. All his original demo guitar tracks appear as they were recorded – no re-amping, no overdubs, just Piggy as he played the tracks he envisioned in his small bachelor apartment. The amp in the bathroom, capturing his performance with the laptop given to him by Jason Newsted. There were many discussions and ideas as to how to complete these recordings of songs that had never been actually performed with the whole band in one room. Away went into a studio in Montreal with engineer Glen Robinson and tracked his drum parts, and Jason waited anxiously to get the tracks and add his bass which he recorded with Enrique Gonzalez Müller at Fantasy Studios in San Francisco, then Snake tracked his vocals with Glen in Montreal afterwards. Jason and Enrique mixed the record in San Francisco over the holidays and Infini was born.Truly a collaborative record that came together from a respect and belief that these final VOIVOD songs deserved to be heard. Infini may be their last release as VOIVOD. In light of this sentiment the band agreed to play some summer festivals in 08 with original bass player Blacky and fellow Montrealer Dan Mongrain of the band Martyr, playing all classic era VOIVOD material. Dan turns out to be a technical wizard, and his own band Martyr is a well respected extreme prog metal band from Montreal. It was a risky move, but the fans and the band were happy with the outcome so much so that this lineup will play more live shows this summer. Jason is still a member of VOIVOD, and one day there may be live shows performing the songs from the last three records that Jason was very much a part of.

Liste des titres
1 - God Phones
2 - From The Cave
3 - Earthache
4 - Global Warning
5 - A Room With A V.U.
6 - Destroy After Reading
7 - Treasure Chase
8 - Krap Radio
9 - In Orbit
10 - Deathproof
11 - Pyramidome
12 - Morpheus
13 - Volcano