ATTENTION: Only items left!

25.99 EUR

incl. 19% VAT, plus shipping fee

For the purchase of this item you'll receive 208 Blasts!

  • 2LP - 25.99 EUR
  • Item number:266715
  • Version:2LP
  • Genre:Progressive Rock/Metal
  • Availability:


Black vinyl in a gatefold sleeve incl. 12 pages-booklet.

More info:

A highly complex construct of math metal, crushing death elements and virtuosic shoegaze moments is what the world can expect from this young Swedish quintet, but LETTERS FROM THE COLONY create more than just songs. The progressive death metal architects are building tracks that are able to catapult them right into the league of bands such as MESHUGGAH, OPETH or GOJIRA with their first album. They build upon the intersection between perfection and ordered chaos; the unbridled joy of experimentation and virtuosic instrument mastery. They deliver highly complex songs full of unbound aggression, progressive structures, but also do not shy away from playing saxophone alongside guitars or sampling the roar of a deer into a track – yes, a deer!

“A vignette can be defined as something that surrounds something, the edges of a photograph shading off gradually into darkness, or a brief scene in a play or a movie. The metaphor we’re making is somewhat ambiguous, but can be seen as a form of social commentary with regards to the state of the environment. We’re living as if we had the resources of multiple Earths, and it’s only a matter of time before modern society collapses. Nature — being the vignette surrounding us — will creep inwards from the edges and completely devour the image in which we are living. It’s not an exhortation for us to better ourselves, but rather a nihilistic observation. Our time here is nothing but a brief scene in the play of evolution; a tiny speck on the timeline of the universe. People are too busy climbing career ladders and chasing Instagram likes to ponder the simple fact that one day, we will not be here anymore, and another being will have risen to take our place. That is the symbolism of the deer”, Alexander Backlund says about the concept behind the lyrical theme for the album.

This animal became the main focus on the surprisingly colorful artwork presented in a psychedelic vintage style. Obviously, this choice is another proof of the quintet’s dazzling multi-faceted qualities, pushing LETTERS FROM THE COLONY into a new niche compartment of technically challenging extreme metal.

Track list Total runtime
1 - Galax 8:20
2 - Erasing Contrast 4:49
3 - The Final Warning 5:57
4 - This Creature Will Haunt Us Forever 1:38
5 - Cataclysm 4:59
Track list Total runtime
1 - Terminus 6:53
2 - Glass Palaces 6:37
3 - Sunwise 4:14
4 - Vignette 12:12
Customers who bought this item also bought
Page of
These might be interesting for you: