ATTENTION: Only items left!

9.99 EUR

incl. 19% VAT, plus shipping fee

For the purchase of this item you'll receive 80 Blasts!

  • CD - 9.99 EUR
  • Item number:112989
  • Version:CD
  • Genre:Heavy/True/Power/Speed Metal
  • Availability:


Our biggest chartbreakers right after HAMMERFALL! These finns really know how to write songs that HAVE to be called Heavy Metal!

More info:

Formed in 1982, Helsinki/Finland based STRATOVARIUS has had a revolving door of band members yet their musical focus has always remained consistent. Unleashing their exotic breed of metal fury in the form of their debut album Fright Night in 1989, the band quickly gained a following far and wide. Unimpressed by the band’s potential to break, STRATOVARIUS were dropped from CBS Records without warning. But what doesn’t kill makes one stronger and the lack in support only fueled their desire to prove themselves. By 1992 STRATOVARIUS’ sophmore LP, Twilight Time, originally a self-financed demo, hit ths streets grabbing at the attention of the vast surrounding metal circiut.
After releasing their 1994 album „Dreamscape“ band mastermind Timo Tolkki decided to devote all his efforts to guitar. Their search for a new vocal extroirdinaire ended with their union with the then unknown Timo Kotipelto. Joining the band prior to the recording of Fourth Dimension, Kotipelto was a true assett to the band. Since then STRATOVARIUS released high-quality album after high-quality album each building upon the overwhelming foundation of „Fourth Dimension“, „Episode“ and „Visions“, the next two LP’s to follow, are sheer displays of the band’s staggering musicianship and growth potential.
During a tour of Europe and Japan in 1995, STRATOVARIUS went through a few line up revions recruiting drummer F6rg Michael of Running Wild and keyboardist Jens Johansson Yngwie Malmsteen band and Dio. The two were awed after hearing the demos for the foruth opus by STRATOVARIUS, Episode. By 1996 the record had hit the streets (with Michael and Johansson) and was the band’s first big success placing them in the Finnish Top 20 for eight weeks and reaching #12 of the Japanese Orikon charts. Their next LP, Visions, reaped the same success bringing the band to gold level status in Finland and Stratovarius toured Europe, South America and Japan. Finally they made more than 100 shows promoting this very successful album.The singles “Black Diamond” and “Kiss of Judas” (both promoted as video clips) became their biggest hits so far. In the course of this success, their song “Forever” (a ballad off the Episode album), became a huge hit in Korea nationwide after being used in a daily soap opera.
The double live album Visions of Europe-live was released in 1998 and recorded in Milan/Italy and Athens/Greece. This album convinced also the last doubters by the ecstatic mood which got caught during the live shows. „Visions live“ entered the Finnish charts for 8 weeks peaking on position # 6.
In October 1998 Stratovarius released their definitely best work so far. The album, entitled „Destiny“, hit the charts all over Europe and Japan from the very first moment. Also the success in South America lift up the band in Brazil and Argentinean charts. Highest chart entry was achieved in Finland where they ranked at number one for four weeks and stayed at the Top Ten for more than six month. The „Destiny World Tour“ started in November 1998 and brought the band already through Finland and Japan before Christmas. The tour continued until beginning of April 1999 through more than 20 countries and was finished in Helsinki/Finland where the band celebrated their second gold award. Stratovarius discovered new countries on the „Destiny World Tour“ like Portugal, Sweden, Norway and Chile. They were performing in front of 250.000 raging people worldwide on this tour!
Their brand-new killer album „Infinite“ will be released on February 28th. The album is in the best Stratovarius tradition. Ear-catchy Songs like the single „Hunting High And Low“, „Millennium“ or „A Million Light Years Away“ as well as progressive metal hymns like „Mother Gaia“ or their masterly performance „Infinity“
With „Infinite“ they sure will strengthen their position as Europeans leading Melodic Metal Group for the new Millennium.

Track list Total runtime
1 - Hunting high and low 4:08
2 - Millennium 4:09
3 - Mother Gaia 8:18
4 - Phoenix 6:13
5 - Glory of the world 4:53
6 - A million light years away 5:19
Show all Tracks
Customers who bought this item also bought
Page of
These might be interesting for you: