Holographic Universe


SCAR SYMMETRY - Holographic Universe

Released on: 2008-06-20

There has been a lot of competition among metal bands these past few years, and so many of the bands offer nothing at all new to the metal scene. In 2004, Jonas Kjellgren (CARNAL FORGE a.o.), Henrik Ohlsson (THEORY IN PRACTICE a.o.), Per Nilsson (ALTERED AEON a.o.), Christian Älvestam (INCAPACITY a.o.) and Kenneth Seil decided to form SCAR SYMMETRY, to put together a brand new constellation that would express a fresh and heavy form of catchy death metal without any boundaries whatsoever. The band wanted to incorporate huge synthesizers into the music, along with blazing vituoso guitar soloing, which would all be backed up with complex but catchy rhythms and every style of singing known to metal in general.

In April 2004 SCAR SYMMETRY recorded a demo of the song ’Seeds of Rebellion’, which caught the interest of Cold Records, and very soon a recording contract was inked. A period of intense songwriting followed and a few months later SCAR SYMMETRY entered the Black Lounge studio to start recording the debut album ”Symmetric in Design”, an album that showcased 12 songs of excellent musicianship and outstanding songwriting. After 3 months in the studio the album was finally finished and released in February 2005. Fantastic reviews all over the world brought SCAR SYMMETRY the intrest of NUCLEAR BLAST Records as these guys really showed their talent for writing extremely catchy metal songs.

Right after signing a long termed deal, the boys had no time to rest and started writing new songs for their next effort ”Pitch Black Progress”. Song after song on ”Pitch Black Progress ”, from beginning to end are amazing, not one filler song among them. The album was in every way the better "Symmetric In Design".

After several festival shows and tours in 2006 and 2007 supporting "Pitch Black Progress", the band entered the studio again to record their newest offering "Holographic Universe".
The album is without doubt their most diverse and challenging effort, full of small little details that will still haunt you after hundreds of spins. At the same time, SCAR SYMMETRY managed to write some of their catchiest tunes. No other band combines straight Melodic Death Metal-Sounds in the vein of SOILWORK with some spontaneous proggy explosions and other cool ideas with such naturalness. Plus, Christian evolved as a singer once again. His performance on "Holographic Universe" is simply unbelievable. Nobody else mixes deep, deep death grunts and superb clean vocals as uninhibitedly as he does.

" Holographic Universe" also features a very interesting "out there" lyrical concept, inspired by quantum physics and the eastern culture.

Track list Total runtime
1 - Morphogenesis 3:54
2 - Timewave Zero 5:13
3 - Quantumleaper 4:09
4 - Artificial Sun Projection 4:00
5 - The Missing Coordinates 4:37
6 - Ghost Prototype I - Measurement Of Thought 4:35
7 - Fear Catalyst 5:03
8 - Trapezoid 4:17
9 - Prism And Gate 3:46
10 - Holographic Universe 9:05
11 - The Three-Dimensional Shadow 3:57
12 - Ghost Prototype II - Deus Ex Machina 6:03

Similar items