FREE Black Metal Tote Bag | select in check-out | min. order value 35 €¹

Korven Kuningas


KORPIKLAANI - Korven Kuningas

Released on: 2008-03-22

Page of
    Karkelo / Korven kuningas CLASSIC SERIES
    2CD - 9.99 EUR

KORPIKLAANI (or “Forest Clan“) emerged out of the ashes of Shaman, when the band opted to change its name, along with its musical and lyrical expression. The goal was to move away from Shaman’s trademark use of the Sámi language’s strong, impulsive folk metal, as heard on Idja (1999) and Shamániac (2002) and opt for a stronger and more widely accepted sound. Jonne Järvelä imagined the change of style to be characterized by both a heavier influence of the traditional Finnish folk melodies and of metal.

He began to search for musicians able to produce the results he envisioned. Many of KORPIKLAANI’s songs come directly from the annals of the Finnish folk archives, but are activated with a fierce twist of metal. This constitutes the major difference between KORPIKLAANI and other folk metal bands, which usually use folk music only as the impulse in metal. KORPIKLAANI’s music is very Finnish and the band does not fear to be labeled “yokels“, living in the middle of the forest. They prefer to draw inspiration from their surroundings,as they so skillfully did on their 2003 NAPALM RECS debut, “Spirit of the Forest”. The album presented an indisputable Folk Metal achievement.

Its musicality, varying from the mysteriously charming instrumental compositions to the "humppa" melodies that immediately invite the listener to dance along and reflect the entire spectrum of the Finnish Folk Metal art. With the recording of “Voice of Wilderness” complete and awaiting its 24 Jan 2005 release, the members of KORPIKLAANI concentrated on finding a permanent accordion player. Juho joined the band in the fall of 2004 enabling them to more easily transfer the energetic melodies and Folk Metal atmosphere to the live stage. But the line-up changes didn’t stop there. Arto began his military service and decided to not continue with the band.

As such, Jarkko Aaltonen replaced him in the summer of 2005. Likewise, Ali and Honka parted ways with KORPIKLAANI, as they did not feel they could adequately devote themselves to the band due to personal committments. The current lineup has been stable ever since, and KORPIKLAANI made with “Tales along the Road” a strong successor to “Voice of Wilderness”. Tales along the Road is the first album that has more songs in Finnish than in English. This is a logical step for a band that feels so close to their roots and the Finnish folk music.

It was also enhanced by the excellent lyrics written by Juha Jyrkäs (a.k.a. Virva Holtiton). His lyrics are written according to the traditional “Kalevala” style. In “Tales along the Road” folk and metal mingle even stronger to an irresistible unity, as well for lovers of traditional folk music, as for metal enthusiasts, and of course for beer lovers! In June 2007 the next album “Tervaskanto” was released.

In Tervaskanto the folk-metal style has even more taken shape. The songs are energetic, catchy and very melodic. Most lyrics are written again by Juha Jyrkäs who became more or less permanently engaged as lyrics writer. This album only has two songs in English, but the booklet contains, as usual, translations of the lyrics and some background information. The usual mix of skillfully played genuine instruments, rough vocals, original melodies, outstanding lyrics, energy, joy and beer, made "Tervaskanto" to a highlight for many people. KORPIKLAANI performed through the years on many stages and many festivals.
To see this band live is an unforgettable experience. When KORPIKLAANI plays, it is party time for the band, but maybe even more for the audience that soon changes in one big happy, whirling pit, where everyone has a great time, and all daily worries are forgotten.

The great times on stage and the enthusiasm of the audience inspired the band to write even more songs, and already in February 2008 another album will be born: “Korven Kuningas” (The king of the woods). Again, the band challenged itself to create another masterpiece in their discographie. You can be sure, that "Korven Kuningas" is the most stunning effort of KORPIKLAANI up to date. "Korven Kuningas" will be among your Top 10 in 2008 – no doubt about it!

Track list Total runtime
1 - Tapporauta 4:12
2 - Metsämies 2:59
3 - Keep On Galloping 4:07
4 - Northern Fall 3:04
5 - Shall We Take A Turn? 3:27
6 - Paljon On Koskessa Kiviä 3:44
7 - Ali Jäisten Vetten 4:09
8 - Gods On Fire 3:47
9 - Nuolet Nomalan 4:05
10 - Kantaiso 3:52
11 - Kipumylly 4:22
12 - Suden Jioku 4:02
13 - Runamoine 3:05
14 - Syntykoski Syömmehessäin 24:58
15 - Korven Kuningas