The Atrocity Exhibition - Exhibit A


EXODUS - The Atrocity Exhibition - Exhibit A

Released on: 2007-10-26

Page of
  • EXODUS The atrocity exhibition - Exhibit A EXODUS
    The atrocity exhibition - Exhibit A
    CD - 7.99 EUR

Question: What is the Thrash Metal album of the year 2007? Answer: EXODUS – "The Atrocity Exhibition (Exhibit A)" Short and simple. EXODUS made the impossible possible: To record the best album of their long running career. What? "Bonded By Blood"? Yeah, sure. It´s a classic. But after some years "The Atrocity Exhibition (Exhibit A)" already has the same status. After a few spins of this EXODUS output it´s just so obvious. Listen to the riffs, the drums, the bass, the songs, the sound itself. "The Atrocity Exhibition (Exhibit A)" is THE Thrash album since… yeah, well…since what?

Tom Hunting, Kirk Hammett and Gary Holt founded EXODUS in 1982, shortly after selecting an appropriate singer the band, Paul Baloff, who completed the line-up perfectly and brought the dream to fruition. Within the following year EXODUS gained huge attention in the international underground scene, evolving from an insiders' tip of the tape trading community to a highly popular act. Innovative song writing and explosive live shows made the difference; EXODUS brought Bay Area Thrash to the world and inspired many bands, among them METALLICA, TESTAMENT, DEATH ANGEL and VIOLENCE (respectively MACHINE HEAD). In 1983 Kirk Hammet left the band to join METALLICA, and was replaced by Rick Hunolt. Soon after, Rob McKillop complemented the mix. The debut "Bonded By Blood" was released two years later and became a timeless thrash classic still appreciated today.

A vast tour with SLAYER and VENOM preceded next, thus the name EXODUS spread more and more. Shortly before the second album "Pleasures Of The Flesh" showed up in 1987, Baloff left the band due to personal and musical differences and got replaced by Steve "Zetro" Souza (ex-LEGACY). The line-up and chemistry was working for the creativity and the subsequent success of the band. With studio records like "Fabulous Disaster", "Impact Is Imminent" and "Force Of Habit" as well as the live album "Good Friendly Violent Fun" and the compilation "Lessons In Violence" EXODUS kept on improving their style and promoted their music with a large number of gigs including tours with PANTERA, ANTHRAX, MOTÖRHEAD, BLACK SABBATH, METALLICA, MEGADETH and many others.

1992 saw the split of EXODUS, affected by stress and personal problems. A short reunion happened 1996 (with their "old" singer Paul Baloff) with a tour through Europe and North America and the release of the second live record "Another Lesson In Violence". Another break took place until September 2001 when EXODUS attended the "Thrash Of The Titans" benefit show featuring LEGACY, ANTHRAX, S.O.D. and DEATH ANGEL. Afterwards the band started writing new material but got adjourned abruptly: Paul Baloff suffered a stroke on 2nd February 2002 and sadly passed away. Back with Souza at the microphone EXODUS continued working and finally finished the recording sessions for the new, ultimate comeback album "Tempo Of The Damned" in 2003. The success was incredible, but still EXODUS had some serious line up problems: Zetro, Rick Hunolt and Tom Hunting were replaced by former roadie Rob Dukes, Lee Altus (ex-HEATHEN) and Paul Bostaph (ex-SLAYER). With this line up, EXODUS recorded the amazing "Shovel Headed Kill Machine" – another lesson in violence for sure! In the meantime, Tom Hunting was back in the saddle, after he solved his personal issues that led to his departure from the band. Now it´s time for "The Atrocity Exhibition (Exhibit A)" and this record will maim some heads. Period.

Track list Total runtime
1 - Call To Arms
2 - Riot Act
3 - Funeral Hymn
4 - Childern Of A Worthless God
5 - As It Was, As It Soon Shall Be
6 - The Atrocity Exhibition
7 - Iconoclasm
8 - The Garden Of Bleeding
9 - Bedlam 1-2-3