Corona-Info: We're still shipping within the EU and most parts of the world, exceptions apply -> all info

Nine Destinies And A Downfall


SIRENIA - Nine Destinies And A Downfall

Released on: 2007-03-09

The former vocalist, guitar player, main songwriter and text composer of TRISTANIA, Morten Veland, laid the foundation for a new contribution to the gothic/metal/rock scene a few years back. Still sworn to the darker and atmospheric genre, he now resurfaces with his new band SIRENIA with one goal in mind: to bring a fresh sound into the underground scene. SIRENIA 2006 sounds like a mixture of crunchy guitars with classical influences, and features all traits of character a modern rock act should possess. Their sounds have a solid base in the powerful drums and bass which are arranged in a very dynamic and progressive way and supported by powerful rhythm guitars, laced with atmospheric keyboards and spiced with melancholic violins and 12-string guitars. The lyrics are based on reflections on life, death, love, hate, paranoia, anxiety and mental decline in general. SIRENIA came together in early 2001, when Morten parted ways with his former band TRISTANIA, due to musical disagreements and personal differences. He was however at this point full of ideas and more than ready to set them free. He invested a lot in new equipment and spent much time in his home studio composing. After recording two great albums with SIRENIA ("At Sixes And Sevens" and "An Elexir For Existence") plus one EP ("Sirenian Shores"), it was time to take everything even further. That’s were "Nine Destinies And A Downfall" joins the fold. The album is the best work from SIRENIA up until now and the first one with new singer Monika Pedersen from Denmark who joined the band after the departure of Henriette Bordvik. The “business” side of things have also changed: SIRENIA are now signed with Nuclear Blast in order to reach an even bigger audience, worldwide. "Nine Destinies And A Downfall" is unbelievably diverse, clever and original. Definitely one of the future landmark albums in the dark rock genre! Give it a try and be prepared to be blown away! A must for fans of NIGHTWISH, LACUNA COIL and EVANESCENCE! "Huge songs, wonderfully played and packed full of goodies. Melodies to die for, vocals to kiss you back to health!“ Steve Swift / POWERPLAY (UK) "With 'Nine Destinies and a Downfall', SIRENIA invent itself a new destiny to reach and join together the Evanescence and Nightwish fans." Noemie Langlais / ROCK ONE (F)

Track list Total runtime
1 - The Last Call 4:44
2 - My Mind's Eye 3:38
3 - One By One 5:30
4 - Sundown 5:04
5 - Absent Without Leave 4:54
6 - The Other Side 3:55
7 - Seven Keys And Nine Doors 4:55
8 - Downfall 4:44
9 - Glades Of Summer 5:35
Similar items