Pitch Black Progress


SCAR SYMMETRY - Pitch Black Progress

Released on: 2006-04-21

There has been a lot of competition among metal bands these past few years, and so many of the bands offer nothing at all new to the metal scene. In 2004, Jonas Kjellgren (CARNAL FORGE a.o.), Henrik Ohlsson (THEORY IN PRACTICE a.o.), Per Nilsson (ALTERED AEON a.o.), Christian Älvestam (INCAPACITY a.o.) and Kenneth Seil decided to form SCAR SYMMETRY. The idea was to put together a brand new constellation that would express a fresh and heavy form of catchy death metal without any boundaries whatsoever. The band wanted to incorporate huge synthesizers into the music, along with blazing virtuoso guitar soloing, which would all be backed up with complex but catchy rhythms and every style of singing known to metal in general.

In April 2004 SCAR SYMMETRY recorded a demo of the song ’Seeds of Rebellion’, which caught the interest of Cold Records, and very soon a recording contract was inked. A period of intense songwriting followed and a few months later SCAR SYMMETRY entered the Black Lounge studio to start recording the debut album ”Symmetric in Design”, an album that showcased 12 songs of excellent musicianship and outstanding songwriting. After 3 months in the studio the album was finally finished and released in February 2005. Fantastic reviews all over the world brought SCAR SYMMETRY the interest of NUCLEAR BLAST Records as these guys really showed their talent for writing extremely catchy metal songs. Right after signing a long termed deal, the boys had no time to rest and started writing new songs for their next effort ”Pitch Black Progress”.

Song after song on ”Pitch Black Progress ”, from beginning to end are amazing, not a filler song among them, as this album will make SCAR SYMMETRY stand out among other modern metal bands! Songs like ’The Illusionist’ or ’Mind Machine’ show the heavy side of the band, while others bring forth a considerably higher tempo without losing any of the intricate harmony structures. The guitars are fiery and crunchy, but the vocals are what make these songs pleasing to the ears. Christian’s vocals are what really put SCAR SYMMETRY over the edge as he has one of the most notable vocals in the metal scene. He switches back and forth between angry and aggressive growls to harmonic and clean vocals. The lyrics delve deep into the human subconscious, attempting to resurrect imagination and awe in the listener, which is also reflected in the brilliant album artwork designed by Anthony Clarkson. ”Pitch Black Progress” is more than just innovative, melodic and aggressive ... "Pitch Black Progress " is a refreshing masterpiece and will become well known in the highly factional metal community as one of the most important releases for the entire melodic death metal movement ever.

Track list Total runtime
1 - The Illusionist 4:31
2 - Slaves To The Subliminal 5:04
3 - Mind Machine 3:53
4 - Pitch Black Progress 3:26
5 - Calculate The Apocalypse 4:00
6 - Dreaming 24/7 4:10
7 - Abstracted 3:24
8 - The Kaleidoscopic God 7:09
9 - Retaliator 4:12
10 - Oscilliation 4:04
11 - The Path Of Least Resistance 4:28
12 - Carved In Stone 5:28
13 - Deviate From The Form 5:26

Similar items