Conspiracy In Mind


COMMUNIC - Conspiracy In Mind

Released on: 2005-02-21

Page of
  • COMMUNIC Conspiracy in mind / Waves of visual decay COMMUNIC
    Conspiracy in mind / Waves of visual decay
    CD-Boxset - 6.99 EUR

COMMUNIC is a Norwegian Metal band founded in March 2003 by guitarist/vocalist Oddleif Stensland and drummer Tor Atle Andersen (both ex-SCARIOT) who later joined forces with bass player Erik Mortensen, a former band mate of Oddleif from INGERMANLAND.

What started out as a project band for Oddleif and Tor Atle was soon to become a fully-fledged act, and in January 2004, the band entered the Norwegian Dub Studios with engineer Endre Kirkesola and recorded a three-track demo which COMMUNIC distributed in a limited quantity of 100 copies. Soon after the demo (March 2004), the band started working with the Danish based "Intromental Management". In no time the band received some serious recognition including a "demo of the month" in Rock Hard Germany, and a track on the ‚Heavy oder was?!‘ magazine sampler. In April 2004, Oddleif Stensland quit SCARIOT to fully focus on COMMUNIC – so now both Oddleif and Tor Atle have concentrated their efforts on COMMUNIC.

Finally in July 2004, all the details were in place and the band signed a long-term record deal with leading German metal label NUCLEAR BLAST for several albums. In September 2004, COMMUNIC spent three weeks in Denmark with producer Jacob Hansen to record their debut album "Conspiracy In Mind", which was released in February 2005. Joining the band on the album is Danish keyboarder Peter Jensen (ex-SINPHONIA) in order to give the music a more atmospheric touch and fuller sound. Peter will also work with the band on upcoming gigs and tours.

The musical style of COMMUNIC is rich in both emotional depth and musical broadness and includes many elements from various Metal genres. Catchy vocal melodies and thrilling bass and guitar lines are colliding with Power, Thrash, Progressive and even of Doom and groovy Metal. COMMUNIC consists of highly skilled musicians that deliver quality Metal with variety and originality. The music has even a progressive quality in its experimental form, yet it remains accessible, quite moody, mellow and emotional, highlighting a mix of influences from the 80’s and 90’s Metal scene.

But above all the end result is a fusion of the different approaches each member of the band brings to the music. Hence its unique sound and feeling that makes it hard for fans and media to categorize. Nevertheless, it seems clear that “Conspiracy In Mind” will appeal to fans of such classic bands as PSYCHOTIC WALTZ, SANCTUARY / NEVERMORE, CANDLEMASS and even the more modern Metal acts such as SOILWORK or IN FLAMES. With COMMUNIC the Norwegian – no, the worldwide – Metal scene has a new exciting and promising name to remember!

Track list Total runtime
1 - Conspiracy In Mind 7:38
2 - History Reversed 6:48
3 - They Feed On Our Fear 9:53
4 - Communication Sublime 7:28
5 - The Distance 8:08
6 - Ocean Bed 6:44
7 - Silence Surrounds 10:59
8 - Another Distance (piano version) 4:59
9 - Conspiracy In Mind (video edit version) 5:02