Corona-Info: We're still shipping within the EU and most parts of the world, exceptions apply -> all info

Hellfire Club


EDGUY - Hellfire Club

Released on: 2004-03-15

Page of

In February, you got the "King Of Fools" EP, and now it's time for the full dose of EDGUY – welcome to the wicked "Hellfire Club"! Within this full length album, the German jesters from Hesse don't only bring along their well-known mixture of fresh and funny Power Metal combined with bombast and catchy choruses, but also a new heavier facet: Groovy rhythms, harder riffs and a slightly dirty rock touch characterize "Hellfire Club" and those alterations just fit greatly to the band's concept of making music.

EDGUY being also friends of symphonic elements, they additionally engaged the Film Orchestra Babelsberg to provide the songs not only with metallic strength but also classical feeling and power. And the all in all result is just amazing! Fiery, vigorous and with a downright striking energy, those are the keywords for the band EDGUY in the year 2004.

EDGUY commenced as a schoolmate's band in 1992, playing traditional metal. Mainly intended to be a counterpoint to the Grunge music, which was incredibly popular at that time, the fourteen years old friends made the first musical steps with covering songs from their favourite bands DEEP PURPLE, KISS, AC/DC and IRON MAIDEN, but soon switched over to do their own thing.
After almost five years, filled with attempts to attract attention of a record company, AFM Records finally gave EDGUY the chance to prove themselves. Between 1997 and 2003, EDGUY released five studio albums, each one an improvement to the predecessor, and parallel to that melioration the band gained more and more fans. Especially the fresh and saucy spirit of EDGUY and their simpatico singer Tobias Sammet – live permanently fooling around – extended the band's popularity quickly. And within only a few years, EDGUY got known as one of the most entertaining acts on stage.

"Mandrake" in 2001 became the band's "big hit": Brimmed with charming melodies, powerful riffs and great refrains to sing along, the record entered the top 20 in several European charts and led to EDGUY's first big headliner tour which took them to 23 countries on four continents (Europe, Asia, Australia, South America and the USA). The tour lasted more than a year and bestowed EDGUY absolute success all over the world.

In October 2003 the Germans changed the record label, got signed to Nuclear Blast and produced "King Of Fools". Released in February 2004, the EP featured, beside the groovy title track, four high-class non-album-tracks only to be found on this CD. Value for money!

First euphoric press reactions regarding "Hellfire Club" already pointed out the undeniable fact: With this album, EDGUY surpassed themselves once again. No matter if you take the melodic heavy-smasher 'Mysteria', the riff-monster 'Under The Moon" or the happy 'Lavatory Love Machine', there's simply no blackout on this album. You want EDGUY, you get EDGUY!

Track list Total runtime
1 - Mysteria 5:45
2 - The Piper Never Dies 10:07
3 - We Don´t Need A Hero 5:29
4 - Down To The Evil 5:28
5 - King Of Fools 4:17
6 - Forever 5:41
7 - Under The Moon 5:05
8 - Lavatory Love Machine 4:24
9 - Rise Of The Morning Glory 4:39
10 - Lucifer In Love 0:32
11 - Navigator 5:20
12 - The Spirit Will Remain 4:12