A Christmas Carol


MAJESTICA - A Christmas Carol

Released on: 2020-12-04

Page of

In 2019 the new-coming Swedish Power Metal heroes MAJESTICA released their debut album "Above The Sky" and it became a huge success within the Metal community. Now in 2020 they are back with not only a new album, but a special treat for their fans: A Christmas Musical Power Metal album entitled “A Christmas Carol”.

It’s pure Symphonic Power Metal in the true MAJESTICA spirit along with elements from TWILIGHT FORCE, RHAPSODY, ALAN SILVESTRI, DANNY ELFMAN and JOHN WILLIAMS. What makes this a Christmas album is not only because during the entire album there's plenty of well‐known Christmas songs inside the 9 tracks of Epic and Symphonic Power Metal, but also because the theme is the well‐known story of Ebenezer Scrooge from the Charles Dickens Christmas novel “A Christmas Carol”.

With many different voices for the many characters in the story and music that fits the story perfect people will not only hear a newly well‐written Power Metal album, but also a Power Metal Musical that gives you the right Christmas feeling that you’ve never heard before in a Power Metal album.

Tommy states, “A silly dream of mine has finally come true. For many years I’ve wanted to release a Christmas album, because the atmosphere around Christmas is always so peaceful and the music with clear Christmas theme is always beautiful and very well‐written. The reason why we chose to make a Musical album with the story of Ebenezer Scrooge is very simple – it's a great story to tell around Christmas and it works so well as a musical. And with the help of different voice actors and singers we made it possible for this to happen and we’re very happy with the result.”

In regards to their musical direction he adds, “Once again people can expect real Power Metal, but this time a bit more Symphonic and Epic compared to our previous album ‘Above The Sky’. When it comes to the symphonic parts we’ve taken it a bit further and included a lot more orchestral instruments, including Tubular Bells, Glockenspiel and Sleigh Bells to really get that Christmas sound to it.”

The vocals are once again high pitched in the veins of Michael Kiske, Tobias Sammet and Sebastian Bach. But this time together with guest singers from such bands as VEONITY, HOT BEEF INJECTION and all the members from MAJESTICA doing lead vocals.

The artwork is made by the un‐known artist Madeleine Andersson. She’s created some fan art for TWILIGHT FORCE and her style in painting is just perfect for what the band needed for this album. Tommy adds: “We wanted to have a painted artwork that could really capture the dark, cold ghostlike feeling that we sing about in the album and I’ve known her for a while and have seen what she could do. So when I asked her she was onboard right away. We’re very impressed and very happy with what she created for this album.”

On the previous album “Above The Sky” people can hear the legendary drummer Uli Kusch (Ex‐Helloween, ex‐Gamma Ray, Ex‐Masterplan). On this album MAJESTICA have the great drummer Joel Kollberg (VEONITY) who not only plays the drums like he was born to do it, he also loves Power Metal and knows right away what to play. “We are all very happy with Joel as a drummer, not only for the way he plays the songs and how fast he has learned all the previous songs together with the new songs, but also because he’s a great guy and we just love him. Great drummer, great singer and a great friend.” closes Tommy.

The music was written, recorded and produced by MAJESTICA at Nygård, Ekshärad during the summer of 2020. Mixing and mastering of this album was made by Jonas Kjellgren (Scar Symmetry, Raubtier) at Black Lounge Studios.

Track list Total runtime
1 - A Christmas Carol 1:44
2 - A Christmas Story 5:02
3 - Ghost Of Marley 4:38
4 - Ghost Of Christmas Past 5:09
5 - The Joy Of Christmas 5:34
6 - Ghost Of Christmas Present 4:41
7 - Ghost Of Christmas To Come 4:26
8 - A Christmas Has Come 4:50
9 - A Majestic Christmas Theme 4:59