Released on: 2018-11-09

Page of

BURNING WITCHES, founded in 2015, are not just one of the hottest exports from Switzerland. Well no, the Swiss girls are one of the most interesting newcomers in Old School Heavy Metal in the past years… worldwide! The band already bewitched the scene press with their first single ‘Burning Witches’ (2016) and achieved the title „Demo of the month“ in German Metal Hammer and Rock Hard. For sure, the powerful Heavy Metal, which also includes influences from Power and Speed as well as traditional Metal, thrills with a great songwriting from band founder Romana and vocalist Seraina and catches listeners with the punchy vocals from the singer, who is often compared with legendary Rob Halford (JUDAS PRIEST).

It's not surprising that so much talent led to a spectacular self-titled debut album that was released in 2017, and the Swiss band didn't only receive the attention of the traditional Heavy Metal audience but also from one of the scene heavy weights, Nuclear Blast Records, who quickly signed the band.

Laziness or downtime are words nobody involved in BURNING WITCHES knows, not even considering all the conscious tradition invoked through their music. And so, the next witching masterpiece is already brewing in the steel cauldron. The book MALLEUS MALEFICARUM (a.k.a. THE HAMMER OF THE WITCHES, in German: “Hexenhammer”) that legitimated the witch hunting in 1486 is the lyrics' center. It is about oppression, violence against the week and manipulation of fact - any of these topics more up-to-date than ever. The new album »Hexenhammer« was again produced by the same team as its precursor »Burning Witches« in the Little Creek Studio: V.O. Pulver (PRO PAIN, DESTRUCTION, NERVOSA, PÄNZER) and DESTRUCTION's legend Schmier, who joined the process as close friend and supporter of the band with some good advice. A present for all true fans who are numerous for the short time the witches circle BURNING WITCHES exists… and they've already made sure that some legendary moments happened – for example at the Bang Your Head Winter Festival. Lyrically, you should have a close listen as well, because the witches take care about lots of different topics like true stories, feelings or forged creatures – a clear statement is always given.

The new album »Hexenhammer« from BURNING WITCHES will be released on November 9th, 2018 via Nuclear Blast Records.

Track list Total runtime
1 - The Witch Circle 1:28
2 - Executed 3:41
3 - Lords Of War 3:37
4 - Open Your Mind 5:17
5 - Don't Cry My Tears 4:57
6 - Maiden Of Steel 4:17
7 - Dungeon Of Infamy 0:41
8 - Dead Ender 5:09
9 - Hexenhammer 6:42
10 - Possession 4:06
11 - Maneater 3:54
12 - Holy Diver 4:02
13 - Self Sacrifice (bonus) 3:57
14 - Don't Cry My Tears (acoustic) (bonus) 4:27

Hexenhammer' in the Nuclear Blast Online Shop
Page of