FREE Nuclear Blast skull tote bag from 100€*



BLEEDING GODS - Dodekathlon

Released on: 2018-01-12

Page of

2012: From the foundations of several Dutch metal acts like HOUWITSER, SUPREME PAIN, SINISTER and ALTAR, BLEEDING GODS was established.
The band was founded in 2012 when guitarist Ramon Ploeg started to write an album after he had left the Dutch death metal band HOUWITSER. Ramon, who wanted to fulfill his dream of an own band wrote some basic demo songs that were groovy, heavy, thrashy and even classical. When the pre-production demo was finished, the time was right to look for people to join in and he contacted some fellow metal-musicians he has met in the past years on several festivals, club shows and tours. The former bands of his band colleagues at that time were (technical) death metal bands so the challenge to do something different this time was really attractive!

After a few rehearsals, BLEEDING GODS recorded their 4-track promo entitled »Blood Symphony« in 2013. The lyrical theme was about ancient gods and history like the Mayans, ancient Egypt and Greek gods. With the pre-production demo, BLEEDING GODS got worldwide endorsement deals with ENGL-Amps and Serpent King Guitars (SKG) and the demo was soon sold out.

In 2014, BLEEDING GODS signed for their debut album »Shepherd Of Souls« with Punishment 18 Records and got worldwide awesome reviews, even today!

One year later, the turning point was there: New line up, new songs, new concept, new album! BLEEDING GODS renewed their line up and are now stronger than ever! After their debut »Shepherd Of Souls«, the band knows exactly which band they want to be and consequently Ramon Ploeg (Guitars), Mark Huisman (Vocals), Rutger Van Noordenburg (Guitars), Gea Mulder (Bass & Backing Vocals) and Daan Klemann (Drums) created a brand-new concept.

Album concept
The album title »Dodekathlon« is referring to the Greek myth of the twelve labours of Hercules. The twelve labors are a series of episodes concerning a penance carried out by Hercules, the greatest of the ancient Greek heroes.

Driven mad by Hera (queen of the gods), Hercules slew his son, daughter and wife Megara. After recovering his sanity, Hercules deeply regretted his actions. He was purified by king Thespius, then traveled to Delphi to inquire how he could atone for his actions. Pythia, the oracle of Delphi, advised him to go to Tiryns and serve his cousin king Eurystheus for twelve years, performing whatever labors Eurystheus might set him. In return, he would be rewarded with immortality.

During these twelve years, Hercules is sent to perform twelve difficult labors, which has resulted in twelve album tracks: Every labor is a track, so the complete album tells the whole ancient story.

Track list Total runtime
1 - Bloodguilt (Nemean Lion) 5:41
2 - Multiple Decapitation (Lernaean Hydra) 5:23
3 - Beloved Artemis (Ceryneian Hind) 4:23
4 - From Feast To Beast (Erymanthian Boar) 5:27
5 - Inhuman Humiliation (Augean Stables) 4:48
6 - Birds Of Hate (Stymphalian Birds) 4:07
7 - Savior Of Crete (Cretan Bull) 5:02
8 - Tyrannical Blood (Mares Of Diomedes) 3:38
9 - Seeds Of Distrust (Belt Of Hippolyta) 4:48
10 - Tripled Anger (Cattle Of Geryon) 6:54
11 - Hera’s Orchard (Apples Of The Hesperides) 5:40
12 - Hound Of Hell (Cerberus) 3:29