Homegrown – Alive In Lugano


GOTTHARD - Homegrown – Alive In Lugano

Released on: 2011-09-30

GOTTHARD releases the previously announced and long-awaited live album entitled “Homegrown – Alive In Lugano“. “Homegrown – Alive In Lugano“ contains a live recording of the band's concert on the 17th of July 2010 in Lugano, which was one of the last concerts with vocalist Steve Lee, who tragically died during a motorbike trip through the USA on the 5th of October 2010 in an accident which was not his fault. Due to the sudden accidental death of Steve Lee, the CD's release was postponed. “Lugano was where it all began and so the circle is closed of all that we've experienced with our friend Steve Lee“, comments bassist Marc Lynn. “The memories of the past 20 years on stage with Steve are brought again to life intensively with this album. They reflect the memorable times that we were able to enjoy on the Mount Olympus of Rock'n'Roll.“ The concert in Lugano took place during the local HOG Rally, a big annual event organized by Harley Davidson bikers. This gig in Lugano meant a lot to GOTTHARD. Being able to play for the Harley circle in their hometown was an unforgettable experience. All the GOTTHARD musicians are enthusiastic Harley-Davidson bikers themselves and perform for the purposes of such events on every occasion or take part in rallies. In addition, “Homegrown“ was one of the very few concerts where GOTTHARD played in their hometown Lugano. “Steve was warmer and more cheerful than he had been in a long time“, guitarist Freddy Scherer remembers. “The chemistry between him and the audience couldn't have been more intense, despite the fact that there were more than 20,000 people standing on the piazza. It is a stroke of good luck that we recorded this memorable concert, for unfortunately it was one of the last ones with Steve.“ “And all that although the gig was in the balance for some time that evening“, drummer Hena Habegger recollects. “Shortly before we were supposed to go on stage, we got caught in a thunderstorm and all the equipment was soaked. However, we didn't give up hope and finally got the go-ahead just before midnight.“ The “home game” in Lugano includes some spectacular bonus material, among others – as an absolute highlight – one still unreleased song entitled 'THE TRAIN', which GOTTHARD recorded “live in the studio“ together with Steve and which hasn’t appeared on any record so far. The enclosed bonus DVD shows chosen recordings of another historical concert of GOTTHARD: On the 31st of December 1999, the rock group played a gig over the course of the millennium – which also took place on the local piazza in Lugano and can be seen as one of the band's most exceptional shows to date. “Music has allowed us to travel round the whole world together during the last 20 years“, guitarist Leo Leoni summarises. “In doing so, we've shared lots of unforgettable moments that rank among the best times of our lives. Anyhow, returning to Lugano has always been something special. It's the place we belong to and where we have strong and deep roots.” Apart from the bonus material, the DVD also contains interviews with the remaining band members, which makes “Homegrown – Alive In Lugano“ a unique memento. “Homegrown – Alive In Lugano” will be released in remembrance of the first anniversary of Steve's death and recalls one of the world's greatest rock vocalists in an extremely personal way. The CD will be released only in an upmarket high-end Digipak-edition, to do justice to the special legacy that Steve Lee bequeathed to this world. It will be published on the 30th of September via the Musikvertrieb (Switzerland) and Nuclear Blast/Warner Music (rest of the world). The album's artwork captures the overwhelming emotions which always connected GOTTHARD with their hometown Lugano, in atmospheric live pictures showing the strong bond with their faithful fans. “Homegrown – Alive In Lugano” marks the end of an era for GOTTHARD. Currently, the band is searching for a new singer and will soon start a new chapter in the band's history. DVD: The Lugano Tapes (Millennium Show Lugano Dec. 1999) - Millenium Show (4:3) – 19:31 min.: 01. Let It Rain 02. Acoustic Medley 1999 03. One Life, One Soul 04. Hey Jimi - One Year (EPK / Interviews) (16:9) – 25:24 min.

Track list
1 - Intro
2 - Unspoken Words
3 - Gone Too Far
4 - Top Of The World
5 - Need To Believe
6 - Hush
7 - Unconditional Faith
8 - Acoustic Medley 2010
9 - Shangri La
10 - I Don’t Mind
11 - Heaven
12 - The Oscar Goes To…
13 - Lift U Up
14 - Leo vs. Steve (guitar- / -vocal solo)
15 - Sister Moon
16 - Anytime Anywhere
17 - The Train (unreleased studio track)