Corona-Info: We're still shipping within the EU and most parts of the world, exceptions apply -> all info




Released on: 2016-03-18

Page of

For all the members of ALMANAC, »Tsar« is a new, exciting, and very interesting chapter. Traditional metal in conjunction with classical music, world music and elements of Russian folklore with a modern sound all make ALMANAC a compelling and absolute listening experience.

Singer David Readman states: “When I was first asked by Victor to join the band I felt very honored to be a part of a new great band, I have to admit I was very uncertain where we would go musically with the band, and this was my feeling even as I entered the studio a few weeks ago. As soon as we started to record it was very clear to me that this would be a great collaboration of musicians creating a masterpiece… The whole experience from the first pre-production recording in my home studio and writing lyrics, to finally getting the real emotion on tape with Seeb and Victor was an evolution. Some records are difficult to make, but this was just easy!”

Fans with an interest in deeper subjects including history and culture will also be able to dive into a new world with »Tsar«, which combines historic and modern parallels that will surprise many. From the warlike nomadic horsemen in the steppes of Russia, to the tsardom, Ivan the Terrible, warlike Cossacks who dominate the Tatar, the siege of Constantinople and the Mongol invasion are stories about battles, wars, intrigue, conquest, terror, power and love that can be heard vocally using the different styles of the singer’s voices.

The first phase is already complete, and now the band is currently engaged in working on the arrangements of the songs. Victor Smolski says: “We're thrilled about this first release and of the many albums to come, commencing from March 2016. Also we are very eager to let loose the mighty power of ALMANAC to the people, on as many different platforms as possible as well as on stage.”

Track list Total runtime
1 - Tsar 7:48
2 - Self Blinded Eyes 6:00
3 - Darkness 1:17
4 - Hands Are Tied 5:48
5 - Children Of The Future 5:19
6 - No More Shadows 8:19
7 - Nevermore 4:40
8 - Reign Of Madness 6:31
9 - Flames Of Fate 6:35