Corona-Info: We're still shipping within the EU and most parts of the world, exceptions apply -> all info




Released on: 2016-02-05

Page of

King is about an old world that is slowly coming to an end,” Riccardi informs. “The king himself is, in a way, the only positive character of the whole story. He represents justice, integrity, and wisdom that are slowly being corroded by ignorance and mediocrity spreading everywhere. We thought this could be a perfect way to describe our indignation about the unrestrainable downfall of our own society in an era that looks more like the Middle Ages rather than the 21st Century. Obviously, in this story there is a positive message: that the king could be inside every one of us. It’s up to us to recognize the King and find the courage to stand for what we believe in. We should all hail the king we have inside!”

Recorded across two studios—Kick Recording Studios and 16th Cellar StudiosKing is easily FLESHGOD APOCALYPSE’s most forceful yet. Pre-production was handled by Stefano Morabito at 16th Cellar Studios—a session Riccardi called “really comfortable”—whereas the full production was completed at Kick Recording Studios with Marco Mastrobuono (Hour of Penance). The sessions for King were, as the frontman tells it, an “amazing time.” The ultimate goal was to give FLESHGOD APOCALYPSE a firm foundation from which to build their complex yet savage music.

If FLESHGOD APOCALYPSE are at the pinnacle of classically-inspired death metal—King is a pivotal album—then where will the Italians take the genre next. For certain, they own it. More orchestration. More death metal. Superlative bluster from all angles. Thankfully, they can first put their efforts into King before deciding where they’ll take the genre in the future.

“This is a very hard question to answer,” Riccardi admits. “It is never easy to predict something like that. What I can say is that on our side, we are trying to push ourselves more and more into something that is grandiose, but at the same time heavy and sharp; something violent, obscure and dramatic!”

We can certainly live with that. Hail to FLESHGOD APOCALYPSE! Hail to the King!

Disc 1
Track list Total runtime
1 - Marche Royale 1:57
2 - In Aeternum 5:25
3 - Healing Through War 4:43
4 - The Fool 4:06
5 - Cold As Perfection 6:31
6 - Mitra 3:49
7 - Paramour (Die Leidenschaft bringt Leiden) 3:42
8 - And The Vulture Beholds 5:12
9 - Gravity 5:12
10 - A Million Deaths 5:27
11 - Syphilis 7:22
12 - King 3:59
Disc 2
Track list Total runtime
1 - Marche Royale (orchestral) 1:57
2 - In Aeternum (orchestral) 5:27
3 - Healing Through War (orchestral) 4:43
4 - The Fool (orchestral) 4:06
5 - Cold As Perfection (orchestral) 6:32
6 - Mitra (orchestral) 3:46
7 - And The Vulture Beholds (orchestral) 5:12
8 - Gravity (orchestral) 5:11
9 - A Million Deaths (orchestral) 5:27
10 - Syphilis (orchestral) 7:15