FREE VINYL microfibre cloth from 100€*




Released on: 2016-01-15

Page of

When Magnus Pelander founded WITCHCRAFT back in the year 2000, he just did so to record a track in tribute to his idols Roky Erickson and Pentagram’s Bobby Liebling. It took until 2002 when the band finally released that first single in dedication ‘No Angel Or Demon’ followed up by their debut album “Witchcraft” in 2004. Using vintage equipment and Pelander’s distinctive haunting vocals they’ve released three more albums “Firewood” (2005) “The Alchemist” (2007) and “Legend” in 2012 earning cult status due to their signature sound that is now known as Sweden’s finest psychedelic/classic rock band.

After the mind blowing success of the band’s last album Legend, mastermind Magnus Pelander outdid himself with Nucleus. Combining what made its predecessor the modern classic it quickly became as well as elements of the band’s earlier days makes Nucleus a melancholic, raging, fragile, melodic and at times noisy masterpiece between classic rock, doom and ambient music.

With an all new line-up (Rage Widerberg on drums and Tobias Anger on bass) the band sounds more hungry and powerful than ever before. In combination with the thrilling, yet very down-to-earth production by Philip Gabriel Saxin and Anton Sundell it just throws you in dreamy sonic landscapes that will mesmerize and haunt you alike.

Describing the process and the new guys surrounding him, Pelander, the free spirit he is, finds his very own words:

“Producer Philip Gabriel Saxin is a rare breed. He's living off of seaweed and pomegranate seeds and only listens to Doom-metal. He rarely sleeps and if he does he sleeps in a couch made of hemp. Co-mixer and producer Anton Sundell is the most evil person I know about.

Drummer Rage Widerberg is a descendant of a Swedish northern bear tribe and how he makes a living is impossible to tell. His speciality is changing flat tires.

Bass beast Tobias Anger doesn't want to be called by his real name so his family has invented a unique blow horn with which they awake him from his nightly dreams of paranoia and world domination.“

Listen to Nucleus and you’ll find out what he means.

Track list Total runtime
1 - Malstroem 8:31
2 - Theory Of Consequence 2:24
3 - The Outcast 5:56
4 - Nucleus 14:08
5 - An Exorcism Of Doubts 7:39
6 - The Obsessed 4:46
7 - To Transcend Bitterness 4:01
8 - Helpless 6:26
9 - Breakdown 15:55