What Should Not Be Unearthed


NILE - What Should Not Be Unearthed

Released on: 2015-08-28

Page of
  • NILE What should not be unearthed BLACK VINYL NILE
    What should not be unearthed BLACK VINYL
    2LP - 19.99 EUR
  • NILE What should not be unearthed NILE
    What should not be unearthed
    CD - 14.99 EUR

NILE are ready to unleash their new, eighth bone-crushing masterpiece to the masses now - »What Should Not Be Unearthed«.

The band had only one goal for their new record: “The goal for the new record was sheer epic brutality,” guitarist Karl Sanders jokes, but then he answers seriously: “Really though, the focus this time around is on brutal Heavy Metal riffing and songwriting; kind of like of an »Annihilation Of The Wicked« approach but very streamlined to achieve maximum destructive impact. So we believe that we have a truly crushing disc to bring to metal fans. Although »Unearthed« is still full of the kind of undeniable musicianship people have come to expect from us over the years, it’s the songs themselves that will hit listeners over the head this time around.”

The production of »What Should Not Be Unearthed« was handled by the band at Sanders‘ own Serpent Headed Studios. All the tracking was done there too, except for the initial drum tracking, which was done with Bob Moore at Soundlab in Columbia. “It all went fairly smooth, although as we all know, no record is without its share of challenges,“ the guitarist tells. “Overall, though, I can say that this time around the recording/composing/rehearsing was a rewarding and enjoyable experience, and the band worked together as a team with a level of consistence and confidence in a way I’ve not seen since the golden early years of working with original NILE drummer Pete Hammoura.“ After all recordings were done, Neil Kernon in Chicago did the final mix of »What Should Not Be Unearthed«.

The artwork was created by Michal “Xaay” Loranc. “I excavated the theories of an elder ancient civilization which could give the origin to ancient Egypt,” Xaay starts to tell about the background of the cover. “That's why you can find a new ingredient in the band imagery, pointing at some higher obscure intelligence, eroding and covered with time. That trace of a dismal legacy is resembled in the outer structure which radiates from the block, sealing the unknown, and it's only an adumbration of what we will meet, once it is removed. The pyramid-shaped seal in the center doesn't contain a recipe for some camel stew or a pharaoh's dining menu. An experienced eye will notice hieroglyphs taken from the 'Book Of The Dead', or the Seven Islands of Amentet glyph - depicting the ancient underworld, and describing the elder reign of God-kings, which had ended circa 9850 B.C. (perhaps some similarity with that of Atlantis?).” But the main thing of the artwork is a winged scarab sign in the exact center: “We all know this most common Egyptian artifact giving protection... so the message is pretty clear... I hope it may become another fine element in band's repository for the NILE themed tattoos. To sum it up: This album is definitely not a box of candies. Keep in mind that opening the package means you will deal with the deadliest essence…”

Once again, the title and the lyrical themes of NILE’s album are heavily inspired by old Egypt and archaeology: 'What Should Not Be Unearthed' is somewhat like the idea that what if archaeologists accidentally dug up something, so old and unimaginable in its implications of the origin of humanity that it rocked the foundations of modern civilization,” explains guitarist Karl Sanders and continues: “As if everything we all believed to be true about humans, our history, and our place in the universe were shown to be so horribly wrong by these new discoveries that it drove the general population to madness and despair. It‘s a classic Lovecraftian sort of idea. Basically, this song grew out of the concept - of the many recent excavations in Egypt containing fantastical discoveries."

Altogether, Karl Sanders says: “Sethu and Ithyphallic - while full of incredible musicianship and unique songwriting approaches - were not ever intended to be definitive NILE records. They were representative of where we were and how we felt as a band and as musicians at those points in our careers.”
“Unearthed is somewhat reactionary in that aspect; it‘s a record that we are confident NILE fans will love,” the guitarist promises and closes: “In that respect, some of these tracks will be instant NILE classics and fan favorites: If someone can listen to tracks like 'Call To Destruction' or 'Evil To Cast Out Evil' and somehow NOT feel that intoxicating, empowering rush of metal adrenaline and feel compelled to raise the horns in metal, I would be genuinely shocked.”

Track list Total runtime
1 - Call To Destruction 5:45
2 - Negating The Abominable Coils Of Apep 4:14
3 - Liber Stellae Rubeae 3:48
4 - In The Name Of Amun 6:49
5 - What Should Not Be Unearthed 6:58
6 - Evil To Cast Out Evil 5:37
7 - Age Of Famine 4:11
8 - Ushabti Reanimator 1:30
9 - Rape Of The Black Earth 4:35
10 - To Walk Forth From Flames Unscathed 6:36