Scorpion Child


SCORPION CHILD - Scorpion Child

Released on: 2013-06-21

Page of

Hooks: a musical idea or short riff, passage, or phrase that catches the ear of the listener. Some bands have ‘em, most don’t. Austin-based five-piece SCORPION CHILD have ‘em in spades. Whether it’s an extended blues jam or a short slice of bombastic heavy rock “THE CHILD” lay a hook so tasty everyone bites. SCORPION CHILD come from lots of different places, not only logistically but musically. Their sound heralds back to early 70’s kraut and psych-rock with a modern twist and lists PENTAGRAM, HAIRY CHAPTER and LUCIFER'S FRIEND as influences. They originally formed in 2006 and have spent the last few years perfecting both their songwriting and stage presence. Aryn Jonathan Black fronts the outfit with a siren-like voice reminiscent of a young Robert Plant. Guitarists Christopher Jay Cowart and Tom Frank layer high-energy twin-guitars over the band’s driving rhythm section fueled by Shaun Avants (bass) and Shawn Alvear (drums).

Signed to legendary metal label NUCLEAR BLAST the band has pulled 'Polygon of Eyes' as their lead single. A nod to DIO-era RAINBOW, the song is four minutes of power-heavy rock plowing through an ancient storyline of swords and mystics and perfected by a massive chorus. Says Black, “I’ve always wanted to hear new musical ingredients within a classic heavy sound. We want to maintain spontaneity while putting special emphasis into integral hooks.”

Track list Total runtime
1 - Kings Highway 4:25
2 - Polygon Of Eyes 4:34
3 - The Secret Spot 4:30
4 - Salvation Slave 5:15
5 - Liquor 4:34
6 - Antioch 5:30
7 - In The Arms Of Ecstasy 4:22
8 - Paradigm 3:50
9 - Red Blood (The River Flows) 13:43
10 - Keep Goin’ (LUCIFER'S FRIEND cover) 5:16
11 - Lover's Leap (iTunes version only!)

Similar items