Magic & Mayhem – Tales From The Early Years


AMORPHIS - Magic & Mayhem – Tales From The Early Years

Veröffentlicht am: 17.09.2010

Seite von
  • AMORPHIS Magic and mayhem - Tales from the early years AMORPHIS
    Magic and mayhem - Tales from the early years
    CD - 9,99 EUR

Founded in 1990 in Helsinki, AMORPHIS have worked their way up to the top of the European metal scene over the last 20 years. However the term “metal“doesn’t necessarily define the band anymore. Sure, originally the disciples around mastermind Esa Holopainen were definitely death metal, but gradually developed into a serious rock act.

The big breakthrough came in 1994 with their last really extreme album „Tales Of The Thousand Lakes“. The whole metal community went nuts, a big success indeed.

After intensive touring, AMORPHIS decided to discover new musical grounds With Pasi Koskinen, new singer for the band, who additionally worked with clean vocals, this was step one. Guitarist and former singer Tomi Koivusaari, now got the chance to focus more on his guitar playing, which happened to be a noticeable and positive change especially live.

This is the constellation that in 1996 recorded the historic album “Elegy”. Not only did it become a progressive/ folk metal masterpiece, it also became the first top 100 chart album ever for Nuclear Blast.

The beauty about “Elegy“wasn’t only its magic but also the fact that none of their death metal fans turned their backs on the band. Everybody loved the album and the band gained a lot of new fans.

Encouraged by the success they decided to perfect the direction they were now headed in and therefore it took 3 years until the follow up album “Tuonela“ was released. Another change this time around was that Tomi totally stopped singing and the few sinister parts were completed by Pasi. With an absolute uniqueness, “Tuonela” combines modern rock music with a Finnish character and with some 70ties psychedelic influences.

Bass player Olli-Pekka Laine left the band for personal reasons. The other members were shocked. AMORPHIS was never a group based on opportunism, but true friends who made music together. Anyway, they had to continue and with ex-Kyyria bassist Niclas Etelävuori they found the perfect match.

After some time finding the right sound, AMORPHIS came back with the beautiful "Far From The Sun" album in 2003. On one hand the band returned back to their metal roots, on the other, the album was really relaxed and even revealed some Pink Floyd-Influences. Many fans hailed the album as the best since the legendary "Elegy".

Some personal changes altered the face of the band. Long-time singer Pasi Koskinen left and Tomi Joutsen (Sinisthra) joined. With a new singer and new energy, the band released instant classic albums such as “Eclipse”, “Silent Waters” and – in 2009 – their latest studio album “Skyforger” which proved to be a huge chart success all over Europe.

Back to the present: 2010 is a year to celebrate for both AMORPHIS and their fans: it`s the band`s 20th anniversary, and shortly after releasing their first-ever DVD “Forging the Land of Thousand Lakes”, these merchants of all things gloomy, melancholic and heavy are back with “Magic & Mayhem – Tales from the Early Years”! Any band could release a best of album, especially one with an impressive back catalogue such as AMORPHIS. But the sixpiece put together an essential list of old classics, fan faves and cover versions and completely re-recorded them! So for the first time, all fans have the opportunity to see how old, death metallish material like “Vulgar Necrolatry”, their biggest hit in the 90ies “Black Winter Day”, or the much loved live anthem “My Kantele” sounds with “new” singer Tomi Joutsen! A must have for old and new AMORPHIS fans alike, and an exciting journey throughout the band`s illustrious career!

Tracklist Dauer
1 - Magic And Mayhem 5:24
2 - Vulgar Necrolatry 4:44
3 - Into Hiding 3:53
4 - Black Winter Day 3:55
5 - On Rich And Poor 5:24
6 - Exile Of The Sons 3:56
7 - The Castaway 5:56
8 - Song Of The Troubled 4:14
9 - Sign From The North 5:04
10 - Drowned Maid 4:11
11 - Against Widow 4:19
12 - My Kantele 6:49
13 - Light My Fire 2:44

Ähnliche Artikel