IRIST

IRIST. A word that’s not a word. Contained inside, however, are words—rist, iris, and stir—that hold not just heavy meaning but are powerful descriptors that define the boundless potential of extreme metal’s newest and brightest hopeful. Rist is to carve a rune (or symbol) into stone. The concept of permanence and longevity is rife throughout IRIST’s debut album, “Order of the Mind”. The recently formed quintet have, in effect, crafted a debut that will withstand time. An iris can refer to a mechanism that controls light received or a flower that has, since time immemorial, represented courage and wisdom. Indeed, there’s nothing but courage on display by three of IRIST’s five members who travelled from their South American homelands to arrive at, live in, and form a band in Atlanta. To stir is entirely musical. The thrum of heavy emotion imbued into and emanating out of singles ‘Burning Sage’, ‘Creation’, and ‘Severed’ is above and beyond the outfit’s mere five years together. At once a representative of contemporary anxiety and old-fashioned aggression, “Order Of The Mind” is hewn from the very same things that made SEPULTURA’s “Chaos A.D.”, MACHINE HEAD’s “Burn My Eyes”, MASTODON’s “Crack The Skye”, and GOJIRA’s “The Way Of All Flesh” so timeless and irrepressibly great. In short, IRIST’s debut, “Order Of The Mind”, is a must-hear.

IRIST was formed in the summer of 2015 by Pablo Davila (guitar) and best friend Bruno Segovia (bass). Originally from Argentina and Chile, respectively, both members of IRIST grew up in musical households. Davila, for instance, heard everything from PINK FLOYD to salsa legend Willie Colón. Likewise, Segovia experienced a similar range, from Víctor Jara to DEEP PURPLE. But what really set off the duo’s imagination was witness to SEPULTURA’s meteoric rise from Belo Horizonte to the world stage. Indeed, they thought: if SEPULTURA had smashed the door into bits by sheer weight of their music alone, then IRIST could too. Quickly, the twosome brought on fellow Atlantans Adam Mitchell (guitar) and Jason Belisha (drums). The lineup wrote an EP’s worth of material with a previous singer, shipped it to producer Matt Bayles (MASTODON, RUSSION CIRCLES), who then agreed to mix the effort after being impressed with the band’s prospective potential. It was at this time that Bayles shepherded the four-song effort to eminent Nuclear Blast Entertainment executive Monte Conner. But IRIST wouldn’t become IRIST until vocalist Rodrigo Carvalho (vocals), a Brazilian, joined the fold. It was then, after measured improvement as songwriters and an extended courtship with Conner, that IRIST inked the Nuclear Blast deal and the rest is history. 

As for what’s next for IRIST the secret isn’t so secret. The plan: to let “Order Of The Mind” do most of the talking. It’s time for the Georgians to shock and awe. The fact that they’ve kept the band name private, the music close to the vest, and their intentions of global domination hidden in the social media age is reason enough to expect the Atlantans to suddenly and intensely blow the roof off metaldom (and beyond). To do that, IRIST will be performing “Order Of The Mind” live as often as the road will have them. 

A new generation of heavy is upon us. IRIST are leading the charge with “Order Of The Mind”...

IRIST

IRIST. Ein Wort, das kein Wort ist. Und doch enthält es mehrere Wörter: Rist, Iris, und Stir—jedes davon besitzt nicht nur eine wichtige Bedeutung, sondern dient auch als Beschreibung dafür, was der neuste Stern am Himmel des Extreme Metal so alles zu bieten hat. Rist bedeutet auf Englisch, eine Rune (oder Symbol) in Stein zu gravieren. Das Konzept der Langlebigkeit und Beständigkeit zieht sich durch IRISTs gesamtes Debüt Album “Order Of The Mind”. Das vor Kurzem erst gegründete Quintett, hat wahrlich ein Debüt geschaffen, das die Zeit überdauern wird. Eine Iris kann auf den Mechanismus hinweisen, der Licht reguliert, oder eine Blume, die schon seit dem Altertum für Mut und Weisheit steht. Und es ist wirklich großer Mut, den drei von IRISTs fünf Mitgliedern zeigen, die ihre südamerikanischen Heimatländer verließen, um in Atlanta zu leben und sich dort zu einer Band zusammenzutun. Das Wort „Stir“ (=Aufruhr) ist auf musikalischer Ebene zu verstehen. Das Surren kraftvoller Emotionen, die in den Singles ‘Burning Sage’, ‘Creation’ und ‘Severed’ eingewebt sind und wieder aus ihnen entspringen übersteigen weit die gerade einmal fünf Jahre, die die Band schon besteht. Gleichzeitig voller modernem Eifer und altmodischer Aggression ist “Order Of The Mind” aus dem gleichen Holz geschnitzt, das schon Alben wie SEPULTURAs “Chaos A.D.”, MACHINE HEADs “Burn My Eyes”, MASTODONs “Crack The Skye” und GOJIRAs “The Way Of All Flesh” ausmachte, zeitlos und großartig. Kurzgesagt muss man sich IRISTs Debüt “Order Of The Mind” einfach anhören.

IRIST wurde im Sommer 2015 von Pablo Davila (Gitarre) und seinem besten Freund Bruno Segovia (Bass) gegründet. Ursprünglich aus Argentinien und Chile stammend, kommen beide Mitglieder von IRIST aus musikalischen Familien. Davila zum Beispiel hörte als Kind alles zwischen PINK FLOYD und der Salsa Legende Willie Colón. Genauso Segovia, dessen musikalische Spanne alles von Víctor Jara bis hin zu DEEP PURPLE umfasste. Aber was die beiden wirklich inspirierte war zu sehen, wie SEPULTURA innerhalb kürzester Zeit vom Belo Horizonte auf die Weltbühnen aufstiegen. Sie dachten sich: wenn SEPULTURA mit der bloßen Macht ihrer Musik die Tür einrennen konnten, können IRIST das auch. Schon bald holten die beiden Adam Mitchell (Gitarre) und Jason Belisha (Schlagzeug), beide ebenfalls aus Atlanta, an Bord. Mit diesem Line-Up schrieben sie eine EP mit anderem Sänger und schickten sie an den Produzenten Matt Bayles (MASTODON, RUSSION CIRCLES), der – beeindruckt vom Potential der Band – zustimmte, die Songs abzumischen. Zu dieser Zeit sandte Bayles das Material auch an den Nuclear Blast Entertainment Executive Monte Conner. Aber IRIST wurden erst wirklich zu IRIST, als der Sänger Rodrigo Carvalho aus Brasilien dazu stieß. Dann, nach einer Erweiterung ihrer Songwriting Fähigkeiten und nach intensive Korrespondenz mit Conner unterschrieben IRIST endlich einen Deal mit Nuclear Blast und der Rest ist Geschichte.

Was IRIST als Nächstes planen ist kein Geheimnis. Der Plan: “Order Of The Mind” für sich selbst sprechen zu lassen. Es ist an der Zeit, neue Fans zu gewinnen. Dass sie den Bandnamen und die Musik im Zeitalter der Social Media geheim halten konnten, von ihrem Plan der musikalischen Weltherrschaft ganz zu schweigen, lässt erwarten, dass die Atlantaner die Metalszene im Sturm erobern werden. Um das zu erreichen, werden IRIST “Order Of The Mind” so oft wie möglich live spielen.

Eine neue Generation harter Musik ist da und IRIST sind mit “Order Of The Mind” ganz vorne mit dabei…