FIFTH ANGEL

FIFTH ANGEL is extremely proud to announce our partnership with the incredible Nuclear Blast Records family!

Page of

The Seattle music scene in the mid 1980’s was a breeding ground of exceptional talent. “Heavy Metal” was a new wave of music that was beginning to sweep the globe, and FIFTH ANGEL was one of the forefathers of the legendary Seattle music scene that also produced iconic bands such as QUEENSRYCHE and METAL CHURCH. In 1984, high school friends Ted Pilot (vocalist) and Ed Archer (guitarist) teamed up with lead guitarist James Byrd. They filled out the lineup with drummer Ken Mary (ALICE COOPER, HOUSE OF LORDS) and bassist John Macko. Inspired by the success of QUEENSRYCHE, who shunned playing clubs for the sake of writing, recording and releasing their own music independently, FIFTH ANGEL followed a similar path.

Concentrating on honing their writing and recording skills, FIFTH ANGEL crafted the incredible debut album »Fifth Angel«. This recording was initially an independent release funded and produced by the band, and co-produced by the famed Terry Date. »Fifth Angel« was Date’s first ever production, and Date later went on to produce platinum artists such as PANTERA, SOUNDGARDEN, WHITE ZOMBIE and THE DEFTONES. The album was first released in Europe through a fledgling label named Roadrunner Records based in the Netherlands and instantly became a cult classic in the European metal community. Roadrunner Records is currently one of the largest rock labels in the world, with bands such as SLIPKNOT and NICKELBACK.

The band entered the studio once again in late 1988, this time with producer Terry Brown (RUSH) and Epic released »Time Will Tell« in August of 1989. »Time Will Tell« saw the departure of lead guitarist James Byrd, and the introduction of guitar prodigy Kendall Bechtel. The video for ‘Time Will Tell’ was released from the album and went into rotation on MTV, and the track ‘Midnight Love’ became the theme song for shock jock Howard Stern’s #1 ranked radio show for over four years. However, the winds of change were beginning to stir over the music industry and when grunge music hit hard in the early 90’s, (ironically based out of Seattle as well), FIFTH ANGEL disbanded. But that’s not the end of the story…

FIFTH ANGEL recently put the finishing touches on their first new album in almost 30 years »The Third Secret«, which will be released in September of 2018. The album features the incredible talents of guitarist and lead vocalist Kendall Bechtel, bassist John Macko and drummer and backing vocalist Ken Mary.

FIFTH ANGEL

FIFTH ANGEL freuen sich, heute ihre Vertragsunterschrift bei Nuclear Blast bekanntgeben zu können!

Seite von

In der Mitte der 1980er Jahre war die Musikszene in Seattle ein wahrer Nährboden für außergewöhnliche Talente. "Heavy Metal" löste eine neue Welle der Musik aus, die den Globus zu erobern begann, und FIFTH ANGEL war eine der Vorreiter-Bands der legendären Musikszene von Seattle, die auch ikonische Bands wie QUEENSRYCHE und METAL CHURCH hervorbrachte. 1984 schlossen sich die High-School-Freunde Ted Pilot (Sänger) und Ed Archer (Gitarrist) mit dem Lead-Gitarristen James Byrd zusammen. Sie vollendeten das Line-Up mit Schlagzeuger Ken Mary (ALICE COOPER, HOUSE OF LORDS) und dem Bassisten John Macko. Inspiriert durch den Erfolg von QUEENSRYCHE, die Club-Shows ablehnten, um Musik schreiben, aufnehmen und veröffentlichen zu können, verfolgten FIFTH ANGEL einen ähnlichen Weg.

Durch die ständige Konzentration darauf, ihre Schreib- und Aufnahmefähigkeiten zu verfeinern, entwarfen FIFTH ANGEL schließlich ihr unglaubliches Debütalbum »Fifth Angel«. Dieses Werk war ursprünglich eine Eigenveröffentlichung, die von der Band selbst finanziert und produziert wurde und von dem berühmten Terry Date koproduziert wurde. »Fifth Angel« war Date's erste Produktion, später produzierte er Platin-Künstler wie PANTERA, SOUNDGARDEN, WHITE ZOMBIE und THE DEFTONES. Das Album wurde zuerst in Europa von einem jungen niederländischen Label namens Roadrunner Records veröffentlicht und entwickelte sich sofort zu einem Kult-Klassiker in der europäischen Metal-Community. Heute ist Roadrunner Records eines der größten Rocklabels der Welt, das auch Bands wie SLIPKNOT und NICKELBACK unter Vertrag hat.

Ende 1988 fand sich die Band erneut im Studio zusammen, diesmal mit Produzent Terry Brown (RUSH), und Epic veröffentlichte »Time Will Tell« im August 1989. »Time Will Tell« markierte den Austritt von Lead-Gitarrist James Byrd und gleichzeitig auch die Einführung von Gitarren-Wunderkind Kendall Bechtel. Das Video zum Titelsong ‘Time Will Tell’ war Dauerbrenner in MTV’s Rotation und der Titel ‘Midnight Love’ wurde für mehr als vier Jahre zum Titellied von Howard Stern‘s Nummer #1 Radio-Show. Dann fegten jedoch die Winde des Wandels über die Musikindustrie und als das Feuer der Grunge-Musik in den frühen 90ern entfachte (welche ihren Ursprung ironischerweise ebenfalls in Seattle hat), lösten sich FIFTH ANGEL auf. Doch das ist noch nicht das Ende der Geschichte...

Erst kürzlich stellten FIFTH ANGEL ihr erstes Album seit fast 30 Jahren fertig: »The Third Secret« erscheint im September 2018! Dieses umfasst das unglaubliche Talent von Gitarristen und Leadsänger Kendall Bechtel, Bassisten John Macko und Schlagzeuger bzw. Backing-Sänger Ken Mary.