In Flames


Veröffentlicht am 03.07.2000

It was the year 1990, Jesper decided to take leave of the band Ceremonial Oath because he wanted to make music in a different direction, and so he teamed up with Johan Larsson and Glenn Ljungström to form In Flames. The gang made a demo and shipped it off to Wrong Again records in order to get a record-deal, which they did. The owner of the company enjoyed the music so much that he immediately gave them a deal over the phone, as they rang him up one night, while drinking. He asked them if they had more songs, other than the three they had sent him, and they lied and said : Yes, we have 14 songs. The next day, they sat down and wrote the album Lunar Strain, which was released some time later, and became a big underground success. The band then released a mini-cd called Subterranean, that became the ”breaker” for In Flames, in terms of getting out off the underground scene, that is, and led them to get a license deal with German company Nuclear Blast for the next record, and they have been there since then. After some time, the boys were getting tired of constantly borrowing peole in order to make a record, or do a decent live show, and they asked Anders Fridén and Björn Gelotte to join the band, on vocals and drums, and they accepted. IN FLAMES were for the first time a band with a real line up. They recorded and released yet another record . The Jester Race, which became a huge success, worldwide, and the band started to get some fantastic attention all over Europe, and in Japan, where they were licensed to Toy´s Factory. They went on a festival tour together with Samael, Grip inc. And Kreator - this was the first big thing that happened to them, but definetly not the last. Some gigs here and there over the next year, led to both Johan and Glenn feeling that they had to make a choice where their prioritees were , and sadly, they choose not be a part of IN FLAMES any more. They both announced, unexpectedly after the recording of Whoracle, that they were leaving, and Björn, Jesper and Anders were left with a finished record and half a band. Luckily they were good friends with Peter Iwers and Niklas Engelin, who both happened to play bass and guitar, and they filled in at the end of the recordings, to do a mini-tour with Dimmu Borgir. This worked out fine and the two gentlemen were asked to stay in the band permanently, and so they did. Together the group continued onto a successful tour in Europé and an amazing week in Japan, where they did their first two shows. Japan welcomed the Swedes with warm arms, and they had an amazing experience. As they return to Sweden, Niklas leaves the band, due to some different opinions, and the fact that he wanted to focus on Gardenian, his other band. This is the turning point for IN FLAMES, as they decide to switch Björn from drums to guitar, (being a guitarplayer originally), and recruit Daniel Svensson ( Sacrilige) on Drums. This works out wonderful, and they recorded COLONY, the biggest success so far, with which they entered the German Charts on Pos.69, beside Chart entries in Japan and Sweden. The Colonization took them around the world, to Europe, USA and Japan, and this tour is an amazing experience for IN FLAMES, who finally receive the attention they´ve been waiting for. Especially in Japan they’ve been treaded like Superstars and in all the other countries they play full houses almost everywhere, the party goes on for a few months, and the response is excellent all over the world. After the World Tour they started writing new material and for the first time in the history of the band, there was no line-up change. They entered once again the Fredman Studios in Götheborg/Sweden for recording another album: ”Clayman”. It includes all the typical IN FLAMES trademarks but goes one step further: For the first time you can hear some clean vocals on an IN FLAMES Release along with a bit more emphasis on keyboards (e.g. ”Only for the weak”). But don´t be afraid of IN FLAMES getting soft now. With ”Pinball Map” and ”Bullet Ride” they´ve probably written two of the most aggressive songs in their career. So stay tuned for what is soon to come!!!



 1 - Bullet ride

 2 - Pinball map

 3 - Only for the weak

 4 - ... as the future repeats today

 5 - Square nothing

 6 - Clay man

 7 - Satellites and astronauts

 8 - Brush the dust away

 9 - Swim

 10 - Suburban me

 11 - Another day in Quicksand

Eines der weltweit führenden deutschen Musik-Labels und Heavy Metal Online-Shop

Nuclear Blast Records gehört zu den weltweit führenden Metal-Online-Shops, wenn es um die Bestellung von CDs, Vinyl-Schallplatten und Blu-Ray/DVDs sowie von Zubehör und Merchandise wie Band-T-Shirts, Hoodies, Aufnäher und vielem mehr aus der Heavy-Metal-Szene geht. Im Nuclear Blast Record-Shop findest du über 30.000 Artikel von mehr als 8.000 Bands – CDs/DVDs oder Vinyle, die du in deine Musiksammlung aufnehmen kannst, Merchandise-Artikel für Konzerte und Auftritte und Dinge, die du Heavy-Metal-Fans schenken kannst. 


Als Nummer eins unter den Heavy-Metal-Musik-Labels ist Nuclear Blast darauf spezialisiert, Artikel von Metal-Ikonen verschiedenster Genres anzubieten: Death Metal, Thrash Metal, Black Metal, Gothic, Hard Rock, Doom, Hardcore, Symphonic Metal, Power Metal, Pagan Metal und Progressive Metal. In unserem Online-Metal Shop kannst du deine Lieblingsalben als Vinyl, CDs + DVDs/Blu-Rays sowie Boxsets kaufen. Neben der umfangreichen Auswahl kannst du im Nuclear Blast Online Shop exklusive Pre-Orders mit farbigen Vinyl-Bundles sowie anderen streng limitierten Editionen deiner Lieblingsbands und All-Time-Heavy-Metal-Klassikern erwerben.


Wenn du auf der Suche nach einem Heavy Metal Shop bist, indem du offizielles Merchandise deiner Lieblingsbands und -künstler erwerben kannst, dann bist du bei Nuclear Blast Records an der richtigen Adresse. In unserem Metal-Shop verkaufen wir Metal-Band-Kleidung, Accessoires und offizielle Fanartikel. Von Band-T-Shirts, Jacken und Hoodies bis hin zu Aufnähern, Ansteckern und anderen sorgfältig ausgewählten Merchandise-Artikeln bietet der Nuclear Blast Online-Shop alles, was das Fan-Herz begehrt und braucht.

Sobald die von dir bestellte Ware auf Lager oder freigegeben ist, wird deine Bestellung für den Versand vorbereitet und innerhalb von 3-5 Werktagen ausgeliefert. Shoppe aus einem riesigen Angebot an Heavy Metal Artikeln im Heavy Metal Online Shop. Hole dir die neuesten und exklusivsten Heavy-Metal-Fanartikel zu einem fairen Preis für alle, die sich für T-Shirts, CDs, DVDs, Vinyl und mehr vom führenden, deutschen Heavy-Metal-Plattenlabel interessieren.