Figure Number Five

Veröffentlicht am: 21.04.2003

Soilwork became one of the most important acts within the “harder” metal scene for the last couple of years. At least their great “A Predator’s Portrait” (2001) Soilwork marked their final breakthrough.

The album hit with ferocity but showed more diverse musicianship. Their rise to the top began with the ensuing tour, where they had the chance to support Annihilator and Nevermore. The reaction to Soilwork’s performance was excellent, and the band gained loads of new fans. The highlight for the band so far has been their performance on the Wacken Open Air 2001. More than 20.000 fans were saw their fantastic show, and their merchandise was sold out in three hours.

After that the very talented songwriting duo of Peter Wichers and Björn „Speed“ Strid knocked out a batch of new songs, and the band entered Studio Fredman (HammerFall, In Flames, Dimmu Borgir) to record their excellent “Natural Born Chaos” album. Together with producer genius Devin Townsend (Strapping Young Lad, Steve Vai), they created the next step to bring Soilwork to the top of the scene. A video was made for the new hymn “As We Speak”, which was actually shown on MTV 2 and some European channels, also been featured on several dvd-compilations. The reactions both from fans and the media on “Natural Born Chaos” was incredible, and soon after the release Soilwork toured with hypocrisy and Killswitch Engage in the US and Canada´, which was their first northamerican tour.

Later the summer Soilwork went to Japan for the third time to play three fantastic headliner shows. The german Summer Breeze festival followed, shortly after that the European Tour with In Flames and Pain was played, and most of the shows were completely sold out. One of the highlights was a packed show in Stockholm in front of 3.000 crazy metal heads! Somewhere inbetween the touring Soilwork succeed to write the songs for “Figure Number Five”. “People seem to be surprised how we can be that productive, but this is the way we like to work and for us there´s nothing called "lack of inspiration". "We get so much inspiration from ourselves, from touring and from the fantastic response we get from the fans that we simply cannot slow down. Our new album contains everything that identifies our sound: intensity, melodies, atmosphere and heaviness and trust me: there are no fillers, only killers...”, vocalist Bjorn “Speed” Strid comments.

The recordings took place in three different studios, mixed once again by Frederik Nordström in Studio Fredman. And indeed, “Figure Number Five” will once again bring Soilwork to another, higher level. In april Soilwork will tour Europe along with Children of Bodom; also Wacken Open Air and the Blind Guardian-festivals are confirmed so far. 2003 will be an exciting year for the band…



 1 - Rejection Role

 2 - Overload

 3 - Figure Number Five

 4 - Strangler

 5 - Light The Torch

 6 - Departure Plan

 7 - Cranking The Sirens

 8 - Brickwalker

 9 - The Mindmaker

 10 - Distortion Sleep

 11 - Downfall 24

Eines der weltweit führenden deutschen Musik-Labels und Heavy Metal Online-Shop

Nuclear Blast Records gehört zu den weltweit führenden Metal-Online-Shops, wenn es um die Bestellung von CDs, Vinyl-Schallplatten und Blu-Ray/DVDs sowie von Zubehör und Merchandise wie Band-T-Shirts, Hoodies, Aufnäher und vielem mehr aus der Heavy-Metal-Szene geht. Im Nuclear Blast Record-Shop findest du über 30.000 Artikel von mehr als 8.000 Bands – CDs/DVDs oder Vinyle, die du in deine Musiksammlung aufnehmen kannst, Merchandise-Artikel für Konzerte und Auftritte und Dinge, die du Heavy-Metal-Fans schenken kannst. 


Als Nummer eins unter den Heavy-Metal-Musik-Labels ist Nuclear Blast darauf spezialisiert, Artikel von Metal-Ikonen verschiedenster Genres anzubieten: Death Metal, Thrash Metal, Black Metal, Gothic, Hard Rock, Doom, Hardcore, Symphonic Metal, Power Metal, Pagan Metal und Progressive Metal. In unserem Online-Metal Shop kannst du deine Lieblingsalben als Vinyl, CDs + DVDs/Blu-Rays sowie Boxsets kaufen. Neben der umfangreichen Auswahl kannst du im Nuclear Blast Online Shop exklusive Pre-Orders mit farbigen Vinyl-Bundles sowie anderen streng limitierten Editionen deiner Lieblingsbands und All-Time-Heavy-Metal-Klassikern erwerben.


Wenn du auf der Suche nach einem Heavy Metal Shop bist, indem du offizielles Merchandise deiner Lieblingsbands und -künstler erwerben kannst, dann bist du bei Nuclear Blast Records an der richtigen Adresse. In unserem Metal-Shop verkaufen wir Metal-Band-Kleidung, Accessoires und offizielle Fanartikel. Von Band-T-Shirts, Jacken und Hoodies bis hin zu Aufnähern, Ansteckern und anderen sorgfältig ausgewählten Merchandise-Artikeln bietet der Nuclear Blast Online-Shop alles, was das Fan-Herz begehrt und braucht.

Sobald die von dir bestellte Ware auf Lager oder freigegeben ist, wird deine Bestellung für den Versand vorbereitet und innerhalb von 3-5 Werktagen ausgeliefert. Shoppe aus einem riesigen Angebot an Heavy Metal Artikeln im Heavy Metal Online Shop. Hole dir die neuesten und exklusivsten Heavy-Metal-Fanartikel zu einem fairen Preis für alle, die sich für T-Shirts, CDs, DVDs, Vinyl und mehr vom führenden, deutschen Heavy-Metal-Plattenlabel interessieren.