SEPULTURA

Formed in Belo Horizonte, Brazil, in 1984, Sepultura swiftly became major players in the burgeoning thrash metal underground. With a sound that was as inventive and exuberant as it was raw and primitive, the band shattered preconceptions by planting South America firmly on the metal map, as early albums like “Morbid Visions”, “Schizophrenia” and “Beneath The Remains” helped to shape the sound of this new, brutal strain of heavy music. With a dogged devotion to touring anywhere and everywhere, Sepultura steadily built up one of the most dedicated fan bases on the planet, and while the ‘90s caused many metal bands to struggle creatively and commercially, the Brazilians went from strength to strength: both 1993’s “Chaos AD” and its groundbreaking follow-up “Roots” in 1996 were instant classics and have since proved to be hugely influential on several generations of metal musicians.

Page of
  • SEPULTURA Machine messiah BLACK VINYL SEPULTURA
    Machine messiah BLACK VINYL
    2LP - 20.99 EUR
  • SEPULTURA Machine messiah PICTURE VINYL SEPULTURA
    Machine messiah PICTURE VINYL
    2PIC-LP - 23.99 EUR
  • SEPULTURA Machine messiah DIGIBOOK SEPULTURA
    Machine messiah DIGIBOOK
    CD-Digi + DVD - 18.99 EUR
  • SEPULTURA Machine messiah SEPULTURA
    Machine messiah
    CD - 14.99 EUR
  • SEPULTURA Machine messiah CLEAR VINYL SEPULTURA
    Machine messiah CLEAR VINYL
    2LP - 23.99 EUR
  • SEPULTURA Machine messiah GOLD VINYL SEPULTURA
    Machine messiah GOLD VINYL
    2LP - 23.99 EUR
  • SEPULTURA Machine messiah BI-COLOURED VINYL SEPULTURA
    Machine messiah BI-COLOURED VINYL
    2LP - 23.99 EUR
  • SEPULTURA Machine messiah MAILORDER EDITION SEPULTURA
    Machine messiah MAILORDER EDITION
    CD-Digi + DVD - 49.99 EUR
  • SEPULTURA The mediator between head and hands must be the he SEPULTURA
    The mediator between head and hands must be the he
    CD - 14.99 EUR 7.77 EUR
  • SEPULTURA The mediator between head and hands...BLACK VINYL SEPULTURA
    The mediator between head and hands...BLACK VINYL
    2LP - 19.99 EUR 17.99 EUR
  • SEPULTURA The mediator between head and hands must be... SEPULTURA
    The mediator between head and hands must be...
    CD-Digi + DVD - 16.99 EUR 7.77 EUR
  • SEPULTURA Kairos SEPULTURA
    Kairos
    CD - 9.99 EUR 7.77 EUR
  • SEPULTURA Kairos SEPULTURA
    Kairos
    CD-Digi + DVD - 9.99 EUR 7.77 EUR

The departure of frontman and founder member Max Cavalera in 1997 could easily have derailed a less focused outfit, but the recruitment of vocalist Derrick Green later that same year proved to be a masterstroke. The last two decades have seen Sepultura evolve, diversify and thrive, releasing a steady succession of devastating records that have added great depth and diversity to the band’s illustrious catalogue. From the scattershot euphoria of Green’s first album “Against” in 1998 and the snarling groove barrage of 2003’s “Roorback” to the gleaming, riff-driven futurism of 2011’s “Kairos” and the Ross Robinson-produced mutant extremity of the widely acclaimed “The Mediator Between Head And Hands Must Be The Heart”, released in 2013, Sepultura’s progress has been perpetual and their artistic integrity impeccable. Ever more revered as a destructive and exhilarating live band, the current lineup of Derrick Green, guitarist Andreas Kisser, bassist Paulo Jr. and drummer Eloy Casagrande recently celebrated Sepultura’s 30th anniversary with an unrelenting world tour that confirmed beyond doubt that the Brazilian crew are on the form of their lives right now.

Fast-forward to 2017 and Sepultura are poised to release an album that promises to once again reaffirm the band’s status as standard bearers for heavy music. “Machine Messiah” is not just the band’s 14th studio album – a remarkable enough feat in itself – but it is also quite simply the most complete and absorbing album the band have made in the Derrick Green era. Thrillingly broad in musical scope but always firmly rooted in the spirit and fire of no-nonsense heavy metal, it is clearly an album that the band have crafted with great love, passion and determination.



Similar items

SEPULTURA

Nachdem sich die Band 1984 in Belo Horizonte, Brasilien zusammengeschlossen hatte, sind SEPULTURA schon sehr schnell zu wichtigen Bestreitern des aufkeimenden Thrash Metal Undergrounds geworden. Mit einem Sound der genauso erfinderisch und lebendig wie auch roh und primitiv war, zersplitterte die Band alle Vorurteile und machten Südamerika zum festen Bestandteil der Metal-Landkarte. Frühe Alben wie »Morbid Visions «, »Schizophrenia« und »Beneath The Remains« halfen dabei, den Sound dieses neuen, brutalen Heavy Metal Stils zu bilden. Mit ihrer hartnäckigen Hingabe, überall touren zu wollen und zu können, hat SEPULTURA es geschafft, eine der treuesten Fan Bases auf diesem Planeten hinter sich zu scharen. Während die 90er vielen Metalbands kreative und kommerzielle Schwierigkeiten bereiteten, entwickelten sich SEPULTURA immer stärker und besser: Sowohl das 1993er »Chaos AD« als auch sein bahnbrechender Nachfolger »Roots« in 1996 entwickelten sich auf Anhieb zu Klassikern und haben seit dem immer wieder bewiesen, dass sie ein großer Einfluss für etliche Generationen von Metalmusikern waren.

Seite von
  • SEPULTURA Machine messiah PICTURE VINYL SEPULTURA
    Machine messiah PICTURE VINYL
    2PIC-LP - 23,99 EUR
  • SEPULTURA Machine messiah GOLD VINYL SEPULTURA
    Machine messiah GOLD VINYL
    2LP - 23,99 EUR
  • SEPULTURA Machine messiah MAILORDER EDITION SEPULTURA
    Machine messiah MAILORDER EDITION
    CD-Digi + DVD - 49,99 EUR
  • SEPULTURA Machine messiah SEPULTURA
    Machine messiah
    CD - 14,99 EUR
  • SEPULTURA Machine messiah DIGIBOOK SEPULTURA
    Machine messiah DIGIBOOK
    CD-Digi + DVD - 18,99 EUR
  • SEPULTURA Machine messiah BLACK VINYL SEPULTURA
    Machine messiah BLACK VINYL
    2LP - 20,99 EUR
  • SEPULTURA Machine messiah BI-COLOURED VINYL SEPULTURA
    Machine messiah BI-COLOURED VINYL
    2LP - 23,99 EUR
  • SEPULTURA Machine messiah CLEAR VINYL SEPULTURA
    Machine messiah CLEAR VINYL
    2LP - 23,99 EUR
  • SEPULTURA The mediator between head and hands must be the he SEPULTURA
    The mediator between head and hands must be the he
    CD - 14,99 EUR 7,77 EUR
  • SEPULTURA The mediator between head and hands...BLACK VINYL SEPULTURA
    The mediator between head and hands...BLACK VINYL
    2LP - 19,99 EUR 17,99 EUR
  • SEPULTURA The mediator between head and hands must be... SEPULTURA
    The mediator between head and hands must be...
    CD-Digi + DVD - 16,99 EUR 7,77 EUR
  • SEPULTURA The mediator between head and hands... MAILORDER SEPULTURA
    The mediator between head and hands... MAILORDER
    CD-Boxset - 29,99 EUR 19,99 EUR
  • SEPULTURA Kairos SEPULTURA
    Kairos
    CD - 9,99 EUR 7,77 EUR
  • SEPULTURA Kairos SEPULTURA
    Kairos
    CD-Digi + DVD - 9,99 EUR 7,77 EUR

Als Frontman und Gründer Max Cavalera in 1997 die Band verließ, hätte dies leicht dazu führen können, den Fokus von der Band zu lenken, doch der Einstieg von Sänger Derrick Green nur wenig später desselben Jahres bewies sich dann als Geniestreich. Die letzten zwei Jahrzehnte haben sich SEPULTURA enorm weiterentwickelt, sie sind vielfältiger geworden und in sich gedeiht, während sie stetig und unaufhaltsam vernichtende Alben veröffentlicht haben, die jedes Mal eine unglaubliche Intensität und Vielfalt zum glorreichen Katalog der Band beigetragen haben. Von der Euphorie von Green’s erstem Album »Against« in 1998 und dem knurrenden Feuerwerk von 2003’s »Roorback« bis hin zum funkelnden, riff-gesteuerten Futurismus des 2011er »Kairos« und dem von Ross Robinson produzierten allseits bejubelten »The Mediator Between Head And Hands Must Be The Heart«, veröffentlicht in 2013, war SEPULTURA’s Entwicklung unaufhörlich und ihre artistische Integrität tadellos. Stets verehrt als eine alles zerstörende und berauschende Live-Band, feierte das aktuelle Line-Up, bestehend aus Derrick Green, Gitarrist Andreas Kisser, Bassist Paulo Jr. und Schlagzeuger Eloy Casagrande, erst kürzlich SEPULTURA’s 30-jähriges Jubiläum mit einer unerbittlichen Welttournee, die ohne Zweifel zeigte, dass die brasilianische Gruppe momentan in der Form ihres Lebens ist.

Im Hinblick auf 2017 stehen SEPULTURA schon in den Startlöchern um ein neues Album zu veröffentlichen, dass wieder einmal dafür sorgen soll, den Bandstatus als Pionier des Heavy Metal zu bestätigen. »Machine Messiah« ist nicht nur das 14. Studioalbum der Band – eine bereits genug beeindruckende Leistung für sich selbst – sondern auch das vollkommenste und fesselndste Album, das die Band innerhalb der Derrick Green-Ära je produziert hat. Es ist spannungsgeladen und umfasst jeden möglichen musikalischem Spielraum, bleibt jedoch stets fest verwurzelt und tief verankert in der Seele und dem Feuer von klassischem Heavy Metal, und ist somit eindeutig ein Album, an dem die Band mit großer Liebe, Leidenschaft und Entschlossenheit gearbeitet hat.



Ähnliche Artikel