SLAYER

SLAYER announced in advance that their new studio album "Repentless" (Info | Shop) would be "the ultimately hardest result" of their 34-year carrier. And no way to argue: this piece is full of emotions. The background story couldn't be more dramatic and both pre-released tracks 'Implode' and 'When the Stillness Comes' leave a damn cold murderous feeling.

Page of
  • SLAYER Repentless SLAYER
    Repentless
    CD-Digi + DVD - 18.99 EUR
  • SLAYER Repentless BI-COLOURED VINYL SLAYER
    Repentless BI-COLOURED VINYL
    LP - 18.99 EUR
  • SLAYER Repentless BLACK VINYL SLAYER
    Repentless BLACK VINYL
    LP - 17.99 EUR
  • SLAYER Repentless SLAYER
    Repentless
    CD - 15.99 EUR
  • SLAYER When the stillness comes PICTURE VINYL SLAYER
    When the stillness comes PICTURE VINYL
    Picture 7" EP - 10.99 EUR
  • SLAYER When the stillness comes SPLATTER VINYL SLAYER
    When the stillness comes SPLATTER VINYL
    7"EP - 8.99 EUR

The tragic loss of Jeff Hanneman, who died much too early of liver failure on May 2, 2013, brought the most dramatic change: in the same year, the Californians parted once again with drummer Dave Lombardo, also with longtime label American Recordings, including master producer Rick Rubin. The EXODUS member and longtime Hanneman's friend Garry Holt became then the new guitarist. Paul Bostaph celebrated his third return to the combo and the band joined for the first time with music producer Terry Date, who worked on classics like Pantera "Vulgar Display Of Power", Overkill "The Years Of Decay "or Dream Theater" When Dream and Day Unite". "I liked his productions and heard many good things about him," explains guitarist Kerry King satisfied. SLAYER spent over four months with him int the Henson Studios, Hollywood, missing the sharpening and punchy side of »Repentless«. "At some point, Terry knew our new songs better than Tom and I - he gave then us important impulses! For us, it has been the right move forward, he has made a great job."

Gary Holt recently called King a "crazy guy" - in a good way: "Gary is an outstanding guitarist and when it comes to thrash metal, one of the best. I'd compare him to Glenn Tipton, he's a diamond in the rough was our first choice. We have been friends for over 30 years and have the same environment. " Not less insane and also a thrash icon, drummer Paul Bostaph began his career with FORBIDDEN, played with TESTAMENT and EXODUS and contributed among others to the SLAYER classic »Divine Intervention« und »God Hates Us All«. "He has an absolut natural talent", simply summerizes Kerry. "I am always amazed by his strength and his skills. His playing is totally natural and his contribution completes our work."

»Repentless« gather excellent songs and can be considered as the heaviest album from SLAYER since »Seasons In The Abyss«. "We try to never look back, to never repeat ourselves, but to look forward. In the end, we took six years to complete this album and my goal was to write songs that fans could call hymns. If we play these tracks live and Tom sings them, our fans will shout along, because i'm convinced that they could identify themselves as a whole part of them. All my friends who already heard the new material had just a simple "fuck" on their lips, which showed me that it's good."

Among the twelve tracks appears the Hanneman's composition 'Piano Wire', the last song played by the deceased guitarist alongside SLAYER in studio. But as Kerry King reveals, "not the last one we'll publish. His legacy will be also heard on future SLAYER albums!"

SLAYER

Bereits im Vorfeld ließen SLAYER verlauten, dass ihr neues Studioalbum »Repentless« , „das ultimativ härteste Ergebnis“ ihrer inzwischen 34-jährigen Karriere sei. Und unumstritten: In diesem Werk stecken eine Menge Emotionen. Die Entstehungsgeschichte könnte kaum dramatischer sein und die beiden vorab veröffentlichten Tracks ’Implode‘ und ’When The Stillness Comes‘, lassen auf ein verdammt vielschichtiges, mörderisches Eisen schließen.

Seite von
  • SLAYER You against you GREEN VINYL SLAYER
    You against you GREEN VINYL
    7"EP - 8,99 EUR
  • SLAYER You against you CLEAR VINYL SLAYER
    You against you CLEAR VINYL
    7"EP - 8,99 EUR
  • SLAYER You against you WHITE/RED SPLATTER VINYL SLAYER
    You against you WHITE/RED SPLATTER VINYL
    7"EP - 8,99 EUR
  • SLAYER You against you BLACK VINYL SLAYER
    You against you BLACK VINYL
    7"EP - 7,99 EUR
  • SLAYER Repentless BLACK VINYL SLAYER
    Repentless BLACK VINYL
    LP - 17,99 EUR
  • SLAYER Repentless SLAYER
    Repentless
    CD - 15,99 EUR 7,77 EUR
  • SLAYER Repentless SLAYER
    Repentless
    CD-Digi + DVD - 18,99 EUR 13,99 EUR

Der tragische Verlust von Jeff Hanneman, der am 2. Mai 2013 an Leberversagen viel zu früh aus dem Leben schied, brachte die drastischste Veränderung mit sich: Im selben Jahr trennten sich die Kalifornier abermals von Schlagzeuger Dave Lombardo - außerdem von ihrem langjährigen Label American Recordings samt Stammproduzenten Rick Rubin. EXODUS-Klampfer und langjähriger Hanneman-Freund, Gary Holt wurde der neue Gitarrist, Paul Bostaph feiert seine dritte Rückkehr in die Combo und hinter den Reglern steht erstmals Musikproduzent Terry Date, auf dessen Konto Klassiker wie PANTERAs »Vulgar Display Of Power«, OVERKILLs »The Years Of Decay« oder auch DREAM THEATERs »When Dream And Day Unite« zu verbuchen sind. „Ich mochte seine Produktionen und hörte viel Gutes über ihn“, adelt Gitarrist Kerry King zufrieden. Über vier Monate hinweg befanden sich SLAYER mit ihm in den Henson Studios in Hollywood und verpassten »Repentless« jenen druckvoll-aggressiven Schliff. „Ab einem gewissen Punkt, kannte Terry unsere neuen Songs besser als Tom und ich - er gab uns wichtige Impulse! Es war der richtige Schritt für uns, er hat einen großartigen Job gemacht.“

Gary Holt nannte King neulich einen „crazy guy“ - im positiven Sinne: „Gary ist ein hervorragender Gitarrist und wenn es um Thrash Metal geht, einer der Besten. Ich vergleiche ihn gerne mit Glenn Tipton, er ist ein ungeschliffener Diamant und war unsere erste Wahl. Wir sind seit über 30 Jahren befreundet und haben dasselbe Umfeld.“ Nicht minder wahnsinnig und ebenfalls eine Thrash-Ikone ist Trommler Paul Bostaph, der seine Karriere bei ¬FORBIDDEN begann, bei TESTAMENT und EXODUS spielte und u.a. den SLAYER-Klassikern »Divine Intervention« und »God Hates Us All« die nötige Wucht verlieh. „Er ist ein absolutes Naturtalent“, bringt es Kerry auf den Punkt. „Ich staune immer wieder über seine Kraft und sein Können. Sein Spiel ist völlig natürlich und sein Beitrag vervollständigt unser Schaffen.“

»Repentless« besitzt hervorragende Songs und darf gut und gerne als stärkste SLAYER-Scheibe seit »Seasons In The Abyss« bezeichnet werden. „Wir versuchen, niemals zurückzublicken, uns nicht zu wiederholen, sondern stets nach vorne zu schauen. Letztendlich hatten wir sechs Jahre Zeit, um diese Platte zu vollenden und mein Ziel war es, Songs zu schreiben, die alle Vorraussetzungen mit sich bringen, dass unsere Fans sie als Hymnen bezeichnen. Wenn wir diese Tracks live spielen und Tom sie singt, so werden unsere Fans sie mitbrüllen, denn ich bin davon überzeugt, dass sie sich als ein Teil davon identifizieren können. Alle meine Freunde, die das neue Material hörten, brachten nur noch ein simples „fuck“ über die Lippen, das zeigt mir, dass es gut geworden ist.“

Unter den zwölf Stücken verbirgt sich auch die Hanneman-Komposition ’Piano Wire‘; das letzte Stück, dass der verstorbene Gitarrist gemeinsam mit SLAYER im Studio eingespielt hat. Aber wie Kerry King verrät, „nicht das letzte, was wir veröffentlichen werden. Sein Vermächtnis wird auch auf zukünftigen SLAYER-Alben zu hören sein!“