Design Your Universe


EPICA - Design Your Universe

Sortie le: 2009-10-16

You don’t believe in fairytales at all? You think there is no more romance today? Yes there is! Both - the history and the music of the dutch formation EPICA resembles to a magical myth. The majestic mix of Classical music, Gothic and Heavy Metal could be the soundtrack of a fantasy epos as well. Mystical synthie parts mix up with orchestral bombastic choirs and a classical set up at its best. Over the top you find the ravishing beauty and vocalist Simone Simons with her operatic and dynamic voice, which enchants everybody and everything. “Design Your Universe” is the fifth album of the sextet, a record that bursts up boundaries and makes your breath slow down. EPICA never sounded that intensive and unique, so versatile and hymnic. Songwriter Mark Jansen has exceeded himself and presents the most mature, heaviest and best album to date. In their homecountry The Netherlands EPICA are superstars already, the previous studio album „The Divine Conspiracy“ entered the Top 10, while it charted on a great position 29 in Switzerland and 41 in Germany. In may 2009 the first live album in their seven years lasting career has followed, recorded at the hungarian town of Miskolc, along with a huge orchestra and amazing choir. "The Classical Conspiracy" not only included their own hymns and classics, but also filmscore tracks from „Pirates of the Caribean“ and many others. „This album almost killed us. We worked our asses off and went much moreinto detail than ever before“, says Mark. With their new guitar playerIsaac Dalahaye also a brisk wind came into the band and helped them to entera new dimension. “He brought new energy, motivation and inspiration. Exactly what we needed for this album. This gave us the possibilities to develop our sound and integrate new elements“, so the praising words of his mentor. The Belgium magazine „Rock Tribune“ even predict them the final breakthrough on a commercial level. „All elements that made EPICA big are perfected on this new album. Choirs, angel like vocals, deadly efficient grunts, crazy rhythms and great melodies´”, points Dominique van Hautighem of the magazine out. „There's nothing I would like to change now. This album sucked all theenergy out of us but as it's for the good course you won't hear me complaining“, says Mark, who is known as a perfectionist. The album was once again produced, mixed and mastered by Sascha Paeth (Avantasia) at the “Gate Studio” in Wolfsburg, while Amanda Somerville (Avantasia) recorded Simone's vocals. It is not a concept album this time, but still a red line leads to all the tracks, who talk about freedom and liberty. „We should start listening to nature again and live in harmony with it, just like ancient people did already. We are creating the world around us by ourselves“, demonstrates the message of the album. In October and November, EPICA will tour through Europe, while in early 2010 the band will go on a ride through the USA and Canada. Meanwhile everyone can enjoy „Design Your Universe“ and design your own dreams and fairytale with it. You don’t believe in fairytales at all? You better should - to „DESIGN YOUR UNIVERSE!

Liste des titres Durée
1 - Samadhi - prelude 1:26
2 - Resign to Surrender ~ A New Age Dawns - prt IV~ 6:18
3 - Unleashed 5:48
4 - Martyr of the Free Word 5:03
5 - Our Destiny 6:00
6 - Kingdom of Heaven ~ A New Age Dawns - prt V~
7 - The Price of Freedom - interlude 1:14
8 - Burn to a Cinder 5:40
9 - Tides of Time 5:33
10 - Deconstruct 4:13
11 - Semblance of Liberty 5:42
12 - White Waters 4:44
13 - Design Your Universe ~ A New Age Dawns - prt VI~ 9:28
groupes similaires