The Antichrist


DESTRUCTION - The Antichrist

Sortie le: 2001-09-15

It used to be that when you talked about Destruction, you focused on one thing – their awesome history. Fans spoke in reverential tones and nearly every band showed the world Destruction’s undeniable influence by incorporating hints of the butchers’ style in their own songs. After sorting out their personal differences, original vocalist/bassist Schmier and original guitarist Mike decided to reform the band in the tradition of the classic three-piece line-up. Together with new drummer Sven, they started to rehearse the old material and write new songs. Rumours began to circulate in the scene, and the band received offers from record companies and festival promoters. The band thought that it would be a good idea to play the festivals first to see if the old spirit was back. It was! The band was one of the highlights at the Bang Your Head Festival, With Full Force Festival, and Wacken Open Air in 1999. After this, record companies scrambled to sign the band, bombarding them with offers. Ultimately, the band decided to sign with Nuclear Blast and in November/December 1999 entered the famous Abyss Studios in Sweden to record the album with producer and underground legend Peter Tägtgren (Hypocrisy, Pain). Destruction unleashed All Hell Breaks Loose in 2000, immediately establishing a new epoch for the band. The album easily stood beside classics like Eternal Devastation and Infernal Overkill. Destruction was back, and it was as though Schmier had never left. The energy and chemistry that fuelled All Hell Breaks Loose was contagious, and fans and the press alike reacted enthusiastically. The album entered the German album charts at #67. Track six, “The Butcher Strikes Back,“ became an anthem for those who believed in the band and kept the Destruction legend alive! It has already become a classic like its legendary predecessor “Mat Butcher,“ which originally appeared on the Sentence of Death EP in 1984. After a small warm-up tour and some festivals, Destruction hit the road with Crematory, Hypocrisy, Kataklysm, and Raise Hell as part of the Nuclear Blast Festival tour. They also made it over to America for a headlining tour with Kataklysm and Dying Fetus as support. After the tours, they started to write new material, and in April 2001 they again entered Abyss Studios to record their new album. The Antichrist is even closer to the original Destruction sound than All Hell Breaks Loose. With the opener “Thrash ‘Til Death,” they document their life philosophy, while paying homage to some of thrash metal’s greatest bands. Why? ‘Cause once you’re a thrash metal head, you’re always a thrash metal head!!! It’s executed in the classic Destruction vein and is destined to become a classic like “Eternal Ban,“ “Bestial Invasion,“ or “Curse the Gods.“ Also “Nailed to the Cross“ is a sure-fire hit with its big chorus. Take your pick – “Dictators of Cruelty,“ “Bullets from Hell,“ “Godfather of Slander“ – The Antichrist is filled with hit after hit, and the production of Peter Tägtgren is far more old-school than on All Hell Breaks Loose. The Antichrist will be the kick-ass album for the trash metal scene and will bring back this music to where it belongs. TO THE TOP!!! If you need to have more information about the history of Destruction, please check out their web page:

Liste des titres Durée
1 - Days Of Confusion (intro) 4:30
2 - Thrash Till Death
3 - Nailed To The Cross 4:23
4 - Dictators Of Cruelty 3:46
5 - Bullets From Hell 5:06
6 - Strangulated Pride 3:27
7 - Meet Your Destiny 4:02
8 - Creations Of The Underworld 3:54
9 - Godfather Of Slander 4:09
10 - Let Your Mind Rot 4:15
11 - The Heretic 3:52