Freedom Call


SEVEN - Freedom Call

Sortie le: 2011-09-02

In the beginning was the word – wasn't it? From a biblical point of view, the word marked the beginning of all being in the world. However, the czech Heavy Metallers of Seven have written their own genesis and performed only instrumentally at the beginning of their career for a long time. It all got started when guitarist – and today's only founding member remaining - Honza Kirk Běhunek had to acknowledge to himself in the summer of 1995 that there would be no future for his former combo Whitelight after the departure of their long-time vocalist. Driven by the wish for the possibility to keep on playing heavy music, he teamed up with drummer Slavek Franc and bassist Jiri Kejsar to record the instrumental album “Blue Angels“ (1996). This happened under the name of Johny Band at first, which was changed before the end of the year. Seven was born! At the turn of the millenium, the next baby saw the light of day. “Crying World“ (2000) refrained from vocals once again. Despite this fact, remarkable sales figures were booked. Kirk takes a trip down memory lane: “We had been playing instrumental music for a long time. It was hard, yet it was possible thanks to all the people around Seven. I was searching for a voice to suit our music all the time – one that gives you goosebumps. It's always been my philosophy that no singer is better than a bad singer!” At about the same time with the workings on “Entice From Sea“ (2002), Kirk came into contact with Doro Pesch, which on the one hand eventuated in friendship that lasts until today and on the other hand resulted in a collaboration for the next record “Sevens“ (2004), on which the metal queen contributed to two tracks. But for all that, life is and will remain a rollercoaster, and so Kirk found himself nearly back to square one in spring of 2006, after he'd been abandoned by his rhythm section. Several “castings“ followed, which led to the discovery of Radim Pigl, who emerged to be an appropriate successor on the drums ; the bass guitar was taken over by Kirk's student Martin Przececk. The new line-up debuted with “Light Of Souls“ (2007), which contained of one half with guest vocals and another instrumental half. Regrettably, the combo broke apart again soon, with the result that Kirk could welcome Lukáš Kuneš on drums and Petr Bidlo on bass guitar shortly afterwards. Another employment ad ensued, to finally find a permanent singer after many years of searching – and to fulfill one of Kirk's heart's desires, as he remarks retrospectively: “I never really wanted to play only instrumental music, but it's very difficult to find a good male singer with personality in Czechia.“ More than 150 contenders followed the invitation to face the sceptical jury, containing of band leader and guitarist Kirk. In the end, Jiri Komberec turned out victorious. With his aid, another CD could be fabricated - “Seven Deadly Sins“ (2009). Nevertheless, satisfaction didn't arrive in the band. The logical consequence? Exactly – more auditions! And when the guys started to think, it would never end, something magical occurred: “Lukáš entered the room to sing to us, and right from the word go, I knew that he was our man – the one we'd always been searching for“, Kirk resumes. The new voice of Seven was found - Lukáš Písařík. The band started to tour Europe as the support act for Rage immediately, which turned out to be a thorough success – not only on stage. Backstage, Seven deepened their friendship with Rage's six string player Victor Smolski, whom they had met on several music fairs before, and who should produce their new album „Freedom Call“ later, as well as refining it with some of his lyrics. “I'd even consider him as a part of Seven“, Kirk states proudly. In the year 2011, Seven have found their inner balance – as everyone can hear: “Freedom Call“ combines 12 powerful songs, in which Lukáš Písařík celebrates his incomparably energized debut properly. One can't imagine anyone whose voice could surf the rock-hard, yet highly melodical riff-waves more elegantly than he does. What belongs together finally grew together! Recorded in czech Studio Propast, a dozen of metallic diamonds came into being, which aren't lacking anything – innovation and the tried and trusted conjoin with untamed joy of playing to result in an explosive, first-class firework of pleasure, whose echo will hog the auditory canals of die-hard Metal fans in the long run. “And God said: Let there be Metal! And Seven rocked.“

Liste des titres Durée
1 - Freedom Call 3:27
2 - Brain Eater 4:02
3 - Get It 4:34
4 - The Road 4:44
5 - So Scarred 3:13
6 - Suicide Fall 3:58
7 - Abandoned 3:59
8 - Wild In The Night 2:49
9 - The Joker 4:26
10 - You Steal My Breath 4:07
11 - To Hell 3:28
12 - War Within 4:05
13 - Autumn In The Rose Garden 4:25
14 - No Surrender 3:09