The Cold



Sortie le: 2011-02-18

With their Nuclear Blast debut "The Cold", Flotsam and Jetsam have gone back to their roots of playing old school Thrash Metal. The album was produced by Ralph Patlan (Megadeth, Michael Schenker and more) at „Phase 4“ Studios in Phoenix, Arizona and coverart was done by Travis Smith (Nevermore, Iced Earth and more). Flotsam and Jetsam have come back stronger than ever and with this their first new album since 2005, they are sure to please their loyal fan base as well as recruiting new fans. For those who need a refresher course, Flotsam and Jetsam exploded onto the brand new Thrash scene in 1986 with the legendary "Doomsday For the Deceiver", the record that propelled original bass player Jason Newstead to international superstardom as a member of Metallica. Not to be outdone, Flotsam then followed up with what some consider to be the most important Thrash record of all time, "No Place For Disgrace". Then it was onward and upward to MCA records for 3 albums that allowed the band to grow musically while never losing the integrity their fans had come to expect. Flotsam and Jetsam has become a staple over the years within Thrash Metal circles. The band was formed in Arizona by vocalist Eric A. K., guitarists Michael Gilbert and Edward Carlson, bassist Jason Newsted, and drummer Kelly David-Smith. After signing with Metal Blade Records, they recorded their rough, but ambitious 1986 debut, “Doomsday for the Deceiver”, which displayed a huge Metallica influence. Ironically, the metal giants would soon recruit Newsted to replace bassist Cliff Burton, who had died in a tragic tour bus crash. In another strange twist, Flotsam and Jetsam then signed with Metallica's label Elektra, for whom they recorded their second album, 1988's “No Place for Disgrace." Flotsam supported the record by touring North America relentlessly. Switching to MCA, the band issued three more albums (1990's “When the Storm Comes Down”), 1992's “Cuatro”, and 1995's “Drift”) The band went back to Metal Blade for three more albums before releasing “Dreams Of Death”(Crash Music) in 2005. Midyear 2008 the band were signed to Driven Music Group (who licenced the album for the european, japanese and australian market to Nuclear Blast), founded by former KORN guitarist Brian "Head" Welch and industry executive Mark Nawara. Flotsam and Jetsam's new record „ The Cold“ was the last album with Mark Simpson on guitar. He left the band in friendship and was replaced by the former guitarist Michael Gilbert. Listen for yourself, make sure it is loud, and celebrate Metal The Uniter, Not The Divider!!!

Liste des titres Durée
1 - Hypocrite 4:05
2 - Take 4:19
3 - The Cold 7:18
4 - Black Cloud 4:41
5 - Blackened Eyes Staring 4:38
6 - Better Off Dead 5:43
7 - Falling Short 5:12
8 - Always 3:38
9 - K.Y.A. 5:26