Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia


DIMMU BORGIR - Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia

Released on: 2001-03-12

Over the past few years, Norway’s Dimmu Borgir have managed to become the most prominent melodic black metal outfit amongst the underground metal scene. After releasing an early 7” EP entitled Inn I Evighetens Morke (English translation: Into The Eternity Of Darkness) in 1994, they promptly recorded their now-classic debut full-length, For All Tid, which was released in late 1994. In 1996, they released one of the most important albums in black metal history, Stormblåst, which instantly made them the hottest black metal sensations at the time. They took a big step forward towards attaining the distinctive sound they are known for presently: mature song writing, tempo variances, strong classical influences and one of the most recognized black metal sounds in existence. Stormblåst displayed an increase in speed, yet maintained the harmonious melody and overwhelming atmosphere throughout. Interestingly, Dimmu Borgir wrote their lyrics in Norwegian on For All Tid and Stormblåst. After the release of Stormblåst, however, they began writing lyrics in English since the majority of their audience was not fluent in the Norwegian language and Dimmu Borgir wanted use a more “universal” language to communicate their message to reach a broader audience. After Stormblåst, Dimmu Borgir released the Devil’s Path MCD before they started recording their next commanding masterpiece, Enthrone Darkness Triumphant (which is an engaging, powerful and moving recording). Expertly produced by Peter Tagtgren (Hypocrisy) at Abyss Studios (Immortal, Destruction, Children Of Bodom) and released in 1997, Enthrone Darkness Triumphant (their Nuclear Blast debut) marked their big international breakthrough achieving chart entries all over the world and playing the huge European music festivals such as Dynamo Open Air and Wacken Open Air. As an example of the admired reputation Dimmu Borgir have built for themselves following the album’s release, take this into consideration: after seeing them live Joey DeMaio (Manowar) became a big fan of Dimmu Borgir while Karl Logan (Manowar) named his stage guitar “Son Of Satan”. This was a respectful homage to Dimmu Borgir making vocalist Shagrath very proud! Because of the band’s increased attention in the underground and beyond, many have erroneously claimed that Dimmu Borgir have sold out. The fact of the matter is that with Enthrone Darkness Triumphant they have made black metal available for a much broader audience and with their melodic-yet-still-aggressive sound, they became one of the biggest names in black metal. An astounding achievement for an underground act to say the least and being such a hard working, dedicated and persistent band, Dimmu Borgir deserve every ounce of their highly regarded status. Shortly following their world tour for Enthroned Darkness Triumphant, Dimmu Borgir started recording a MCD called Godless Savage Garden to hold fans over while waiting for their next full-length, Spiritual Black Dimensions, to come out. The MCD went over so well that it was nominated for a “Spellemannsprisen” (a Norwegian Grammy) in the Metal category together with albums from The Kovenant and Mundanus Imperium. The show was aired live on Norwegian television with Dimmu Borgir performing the song “Grotesquery Concealed” from Spiritual Black Dimensions. The performance was the only highlight of the entire show, showing the Norwegian people exactly why “live” spelled backwards spells “evil”. Unfortunately they did not win the Grammy. Their next album, the aforementioned Spiritual Black Dimensions, was unleashed in March 1999, taking record stores by storm and proving yet again that Dimmu Borgir are the kings of the dark throne. Prior to the release, many were curious as to what direction the music would take. Those doubting Dimmu Borgir’s dedication to extreme music were forced to face reality when Spiritual Black Dimensions proved to be their most complex and extreme album to date. After the recording, bassist Nagash decided to quit Dimmu Borgir to fully concentrate on his other band, The Kovenant. The temporary replacement, Simen Hestnaes (also known as I.C.S. Vortex) from Borknagar contributed to the recording with clean and operatic style vocals (Hestnaes was also the session bassist on the 1999 Spiritual Black Dimensions tour). In late 1999, Hestnaes became the band’s permanent replacement on bass and fulltime Dimmu Borgir member. Another major change in the group’s line-up occurred during the early stages of their 1999 tour. Drummer Tjodalv decided to leave the band due to musical and personal differences (having family to take care of thus not being able to undertake the band’s immense touring schedule). Tjodalv’s replacement is none other than the godly Nick Barker, who previously pounded the skins for Cradle Of Filth. Further line-up changes took place during the writing period for their new album when the band fired guitarist Astennu due to various personal reasons. Astennu’s replacement ended up being a man named Galder (Tom Rune Andersen) the "Mastermind of Old Mans Child" who is known for his brilliant guitar playing in Norwegian black metallers Old Man's Child. With a firm line-up now intact [Shagrath (vocals), Silenoz (guitar), Vortex (bass & vocals), Galder (guitar), Mustis (keyboard) and Nick Barker (drums)], Dimmu Borgir entered Sweden’s Fredman Studio (At The Gates, In Flames, Dark Tranquillity) in Fall 2000 to record their highly anticipated new album, Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia. Once again the band created a masterpiece in aggressive music with outstanding atmosphere and audibly evil songs. The songwriting is at its highest peak making Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia the band’s strongest release to date (proven by such standout tracks as “Blessings Upon The Throne Of Tyranny”, “Kings Of The Carnival Creation”, “The Mealstrom Mephisto” and “Architecture Of A Genocidal Nature”). As an added bonus, the band recorded various tracks with the Gothenburg symphonic orchestra yielding astonishing conclusions sure to turn heads. The end result is nothing short of perfection from the complex guitar work to the dynamic keyboard tinkering. Drummer Nick Barker blasts through the material with devastating force and fluidity while Hestnaes’ bass rumbles supremely below as he adds intelligently lays down well-placed backing vocals for added enhancement. Vocalist Shagrath pushes himself to an underworldly level never sounding more sinister and ferocious. Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia is not just another Dimmu Borgir release that so many people are expecting to hear by any means. It possesses its own dark emotions and exciting creativity that only a band as experienced as Dimmu Borgir can deliver leaving all other “top tiered” black metal bands flailing helplessly in their wake.

Track list Total runtime
1 - Fear and Wonder (Intro) 2:50
2 - Blessings Upon The Throne Of Tyranny 5:18
3 - Kings Of The Carnival Creation 7:48
4 - Hybrid Stigmata - The Apostasy 3:06
5 - Architecture Of A Genocidal Nature 6:09
6 - Puritania 4:43
7 - IndoctriNation 6:02
8 - The Maelstrom Mephisto 5:16
9 - Absolute Sole Right 7:00
10 - Sympozium 6:27
11 - Perfection Or Vanity 3:38
12 - Burn In Hell (bonustrack)
Related bands