SINISTER - Afterburner

Veröffentlicht am: 07.04.2006

A Death Metal legend is back from grave! After deciding to split far too early, SINISTER fortunately returned to show the world how rude and aggressive the music at the beginning of the Death Metal movement was. The split after the "Savage Or Grace" album saddened all fans, espcially because the album was a real masterpiece – but as the title of the new album, "Afterburner" already announces: This time it´s even better. The dutch legend did their best to create another pure piece of darkness. Doomy crawl parts combined with brachial blastbeasts, stuffed in a necrotic atmosphere. SINISTER never lost sight of their roots but always developed from one album to another in their on way. This time with "Afterburner", things are a little bit different. First of all the line up changed: Drummer Aad passed over his drumsticks to the new drummer Paul Beltman and grapped the microphone in order to grunt his soul off. Alex Paul switched from bass to guitar and SINISTER collectively welcomed Bas van den Bogaard as part of the new rhythm machinery. But also the music varies: After the pure massacre "Savage And Grace", SINISTER decided to slow down things a litte bit. "Afterburner" features two epic long tracks ("Flesh Of The Servant" and "Presage Of The Mindless") that show the whole spectrum of the SINISTER sound in one song. And as we all now: A brutal, fast part is much more effective if a slow part preceds. "Afterburner" is creepy, crawly, fast, evil and unleashes pure Death Metal mayhem. The album was recorded with famous producer Andy Classen in the Stage One Studios in Germany. Needless to say that the production turned out as a blast… Starting in 1989, Sinister was a band arising in the middle of the Death-Metal hype. After releasing a demo, which sold about 1500 copies, a promo tape followed. Sending out the promo to various labels resulted in signing up at Nuclear Blast Records, Germany 1991. There debut CD 'Cross the Styx' saw the light in early 1992, and sold many copies worldwide. Many live shows all over Europe followed. Touring with bands like Suffocation, Cannibal Corpse and Deicide increased the number of people knowing Sinister. In the years after that, Sinister succeeded in maintaining their popularity by releasing their second album 'Diabolical Summoning' (1993), 'Hate' (1995) and doing many live shows all over Europe and a very successful 55 show-tour through all the USA. At the end of this period, Death-Metal got less popular, lots of Death-Metal fans switched over to Black-Metal, Gothic and other atmospherical music. Sinister never thought about playing other music than their favourite; Death-Metal. Some years past and the band released their mini-CD 'Bastard Saints' (1996), and played a few live-shows. Several line-up changes followed, and led Sinister to write their most aggressive brutal and intense album so far 'Aggressive Measures' (1998). This time their maintenance in Death-Metal payed off. Death-Metal is back, where for Sinister it never left. The response from fans and critics where good, sold lots of albums and played lots of good shows, of which a short US-tour and good festivals like Wacken open air, Milwaukee Metalfest and Czech Dynamo blessed their way. Yet the cooperation between Sinister and vocalist Eric didn't work out very well, which lead to Eric's departure in August 1999. Sinister was searching for a new singer. After some serious tryouts with different singers, Rachel came out best and the band started concentrating on the next record. Creative Killings was released at Hammerheart Records, September 2001. Shortly, after the release guitarist Bart decided to quit the band. A replacement was found in Pascal. The album was promoted with shows in Russia, Belarus and a 26 show tour across the rest of Europe. In 2002 Sinister decided to join forces again with Nuclear Blast records. The result was "Savage And Grace". This is the past. "Afterburner" is the future – and the flame of SINISTER will burn again forever.

1 - The Grey Massacre
2 - Altruistic Suicide
3 - Men Down
4 - Afterburner
5 - Presage Of The Mindless
6 - Into Submission
7 - The Riot Crossfire
8 - Flesh Of The Servant
'Afterburner' im Nuclear Blast Online-Shop
Seite von