Velvet Noise


RAUNCHY - Velvet Noise

Veröffentlicht am: 12.08.2002

There is really nothing much to do when growing up in the small danish town of Thisted – unless of course you happen to be very fond of fishing. So when five young Thisted blokes in 1994 decided to form a band called RAUNCHY it was partly out of boredom. Since then the five guys have spent countless hours perfecting their musical skills – and developing Raunchy’s very own blend of futuristic hybrid metal. In 1995 the band records their first demo at Borsing Recordings in Århus. The song Space Story taken from the demo is later released on the compilation CD Extremity Rising Vol. I - In 1996 RAUNCHY achieves a second place in a music competition with 130 participating bands. A part of the prize is three days in a studio which the band uses to record their second demo. This time the music has a more alternative character and the song Crack Of Dawn is later released on Extremity Rising Vol 3 - In 1998 the band move to Copenhagen and Århus, later they got contacted by Denmark's Radio's P3 who interviewed the band and played the song "Hypnotized" on the radio program "Demokræmen". Despite the hardness of the song, it achieves enough votes to enter the list where it remains for several of weeks. After this RAUNCHY signed a record contract with Mighty Music's sublabel Drug(s).In August 2000 RAUNCHY enters the Aabenraa Studios for the second time to begin the recording of their debut album Velvet Noise. The choice of producer is clear since the band's earlier collaboration with Jacob Hansen (Illdisposed, Mercenary and others) worked out really well. After weeks of hard work the album is finished and the band is very satisfied with the result. The album shows a band who is capable of incorporating melodic elements in their hard and metallic soundscapes. Though RAUNCHY actually admits to being inspired partly by pop music their own sound is indeed very far from pop. The sound of Raunchy is best described as a massive pulsating wall of sound, vaporizing everything that stands in its way. Under licence from Mighty Music

1 - Twelve Feet Tall
2 - Bleeding
3 - Drive
4 - Tonight
5 - Leech
6 - My Game
7 - Crack Of Dawn
8 - Out Of Sight
9 - This Is Not An Exit
10 - Never Be