All hell breaks loose


DESTRUCTION - All hell breaks loose

Veröffentlicht am: 25.04.2000

The Butcher Strikes Back – Devastating Thrash Attack!”There’s no better way to hit the nail on the head than with this quote from “The Butcher Strikes Back” DESTRUCTION are back. And they haven’t forgotten a thing !After legions of bands paid homage to them ,particularly during the second half of the nineties, with countless cover versions or cheekily ‘borrowed’ riffs, DESTRUCTION present themselves now the way we knew them and missed them.In the Eighties, DESTRUCTION already had an exceptional status. The razor sharp riffing of guitarist Mike and Schmiers’ unmistakable vocals left the competition way behind them during the first wave of Thrash Metal. Songs like “Mad Butcher”, “Death Trap”, “Tormentor” and “Curse The Gods” are a part of Metal History, timeless neckbreakers and a ton-heavy legacy. To link up with such a legacy, a new album would have to be damn good, damn good indeed.DESTRUCTION have therefore taken their time and kept well away from hectic, rush jobs. The founder members Schmier (Bass/Vocals) and Mike (Guitar) have gone separate ways since the end of the Eighties. Schmier celebrated several successes with Headhunter and Mike lead DESTRUCTION, with other musicians, towards a distinctly more technical style but the mighty shadow of the old masterpieces like “Sentence Of Death”, “Infernal Overkill” and “Eternal Devastation” was too great and neither band was able to truly satisfy fans and band members alike. Schmier left music completely by the wayside for a while and Mike distanced himself more and more from his original roots. In 1999 the radical step most eagerly awaited by the fans was taken. The, at that time, current Destruction incarnation (Schmier calls them “Neo-Destruction”) was laid to rest and Schmier brushed the dust from his bass.Mike and Schmier pumped fresh blood into the band by recruiting Sven Vormann on drums who has only appeared on a local level to date. Sven is also responsible for some pretty fierce backing vocals too.The reunion was THE sensation of summer 1999. DESTRUCTION warmed up by playing diverse gigs (e.g. Wacken and Bang Your Head Festivals) where not only old and new fans but also musicians by the dozen fell to their knees in awe. Collegues from bands like Immortal, Ryker’s and Testament could hardly believe that their old heroes were back together and kickin’ ass just like in the old days. DESTRUCTION managed, without any argument, to belt out their old hits better than ever before and presented a new song, “The Butcher Strikes Back”, which effortlessly compliments their 80’s highlights. Among their worshippers in Wacken was Peter Tägtgren (Hypocrisy, The Abyss, Pain Mastermind) who has been a die-hard DESTRUCTION fan for years and is also a well-known producer. A very practical constellation indeed which led to DESTRUCTION barricading themselves in Tägtgren’s Abyss Studios last winter to record “All Hell Breaks Loose”.The result is a fusion of classic mid-80’s thrash power and some more modern elements. DESTRUCTION have arranged the songs slightly more complex and have, in the meantime, gained the necessary technical finesse. Without diverting from their chosen path, they have retained their feel for crystal clear mega-riffing and have come up with the most bombastic sound in the band history (at last, the drums pack a punch too !)And for all those who are sceptical about such reunions, they’ve re-recorded “Total Desaster”, one of their best songs, with such fury that no-one could even suggest that we’re dealing with warmed up remnants of the old days.The originals have returned and the whole neo-Thrash scene better watch their backs!!!!

Tracklist Dauer
1 - Intro 0:43
2 - The final curtain 4:26
3 - Machinery of lies 3:41
4 - Tears of blood 4:03
5 - Devastation of your soul 4:09
6 - The butcher strikes back 3:07
7 - World domination of pain 4:05
8 - Extreme measure 4:53
9 - All hell breaks loose 5:40
10 - Total desaster 3:07
11 - Visual prostitution 3:50
12 - Kingdom of damnation 3:37