THREAT SIGNAL

THREAT SIGNAL arose from the filthy, industrialized east end of Hamilton, Ontario Canada in late 2003. A detuned, syncopated, melodic metal machine, THREAT SIGNAL combines the complexity trash metal, with a more contemporary groove sound involving technical rhythms and melodic musical passages.

Before the band had played a single live show, their home recordings generated a significant interest online. The song ‘Rational Eyes’ hit #1 on the international independent music website GarageBand.com and remained in the top position for over 2 years. This prompted many record labels to take notice. One label in particular fit perfectly with the band’s vision, and in 2005 THREAT SIGNAL inked a deal with Nuclear Blast Records.



THREAT SIGNAL’s debut album “Under Reprisal” (info | shop) was recorded with producer Christian Olde Wolbers (Fear Factory/Arkaea). “It’s without a doubt my favorite album of 2006,” Wolbers remarked, “A mix of Strapping Young Lad, Fear Factory, Soilwork… a true Canadian phenomenon!” Veteran mixer Tue Madsen added the final touches to the album and it was released internationally in August 2006. Embraced by fans and critics, perhaps the most meaningful praise for the album came in the form of the Canadian Recording of the Year award bestowed upon the band in their hometown at the 2006 Hamilton Music Awards.

After supporting “Under Reprisal” on the road for over 2 years, THREAT SIGNAL entered the studio in November 2008. They recorded their second album “Vigilance” (info | shop) with vocalist/producer Jon Howard (Threat Signal/Arkaea). Fellow Canadian Greg Reely was chosen to mix and master the album and it was released under Nuclear Blast Records September 8th 2009.

The third, self-titled THREAT SIGNAL album (info | shop) is due for release under Nuclear Blast records in October 2011. Recorded at Planet Z studios with metal mastermind producer Zeuss, this will be their heaviest and most dark sounding effort to date.

THREAT SIGNAL has performed live with Soilwork, All That Remains, Opeth, Hatebreed, Darkest Hour, Mnemic, Protest The Hero, Testament, Saxon, Nevermore, Lordi, Motorhead, Hammerfall, Arch Enemy, Scar Symmetry, Kataklysm, and many more.



Back to bands

THREAT SIGNAL

Ende 2003 gründete sich in Hamilton (Onotario), Kanada, die Band Threat Signal. Die Metalcore Band verbinden ihren Sound mit einzigartigem Thrash Metal und fügen modernen groovigen Sound in ihre technisch präzisen Rhythmen und melodischen Parts hinzu.

Schon bevor die Band überhaupt auf der Bühne zu sehen war, erreichte sie per Internetauftritt schon eine große Fangemeinde. Der Track „Rational Eyes“ platzierte sich in den internationalen Independent-Musik-Website-Charts bei GarageBand.com auf Platz 1 und hielt sich über mehr als zwei Jahre sehr weit oben. Unterschiedlichste Plattenlabels interessierten sich für die neuartige Band, so hatten THREAT SIGNAL freie Auswahl, bei welchem Label sie unter Vertrag stehen wollten und entschieden sich 2005 letztendlich für Nuclear Blast.



Das Debüt „Under Reprisal“ (Info | Shop) wurde zusammen mit Christian Olde Wolbers (Fear Factory /Arkaea) produziert. „Es ist ohne Frage mein Lieblingsalbum des Jahres 2006“, gab Wolbers damals bekannt. „Ein Mix aus Strapping Young Lad, Fear Factory, Soilwork… ein wahres kanadisches Phänomen!“ Gemixt und Gemastert wurde das Album von dem begabten Tue Madsen und im August 2006 wurde die Scheibe schließlich veröffentlicht. „Under Reprisal“ erntete sowohl von den Kritikern wie auch von der Fangemeinde gute Bewertungen. Doch die wohl ehrenwerteste Auszeichnung wurde THREAT SIGNAL mit dem „Canadian Recording Of The Year“ beim Hamilton Music Award 2006 verliehen.

Nach einer zwei Jahre andauernden Tournee wurde im November 2008 mit dem Produzenten Jon Howard das zweite Album „Vigilance“ (Info | Shop) aufgenommen. Gemixt und Gemastert wurde die Scheibe diesmal von Greg Reely und der Release folgte schließlich wieder mal über das Label Nuclear Blast im September 2009.

Im Oktober 2011 folgt nun endlich das dritte selbstbetitelte Album von THREAT SIGNAL (Info | Shop). Gemeinsam mit dem Metal-Mastermind und Produzenten Zeuss verbrachte die Band einige Zeit im Planet Z-Studio, um ihre bis heute härteste und finsterste Aufnahme zu produzieren.

THREAT SIGNAL waren schon mit einigen großen Bands wie Soilwork, All That Remains, Opeth, Hatebreed, Darkest Hour, Mnemic, Protest The Hero, Testament, Saxon, Nevermore, Lordi, Motorhead, Hammerfall, Arch Enemy, Scar Symmetry, Kataklysm und vielen weiteren bedeutenden Metalbands unterwegs.