THE 69 EYES

A lot of infamous metal bands like HIM came up from the gothic metal scene of the Finnish underground, but in 1990 a further musical talent arose: The 69 Eyes, in persons of Jyrki Pekka Emil Linnankivi “Jyrki 69” (vocals), Pasi Moilanen “Bazie“ and Timo Pitkänen “Timo-Timo“ (guitarists), Arto Väinö Ensio Ojajärvi “Archie, Archzie“ (bassist) and Jussi Heikki Tapio Vuori (Drums), was born.

The Finnish label Gaga Goodies Records became aware of the newcomers and offered the band their first recording contract. With this label the band released their first four albums
Bump’n’Grind“ (info | shop), “Motor City Resurrection“ (info | shop), “Savage Garden“ (info | shop) and “Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams“ (info | shop), between 1992 and 1997. All this albums are standing in context with typical elements of gothic rock only discreetly. After The 69 Eyes changed to Roadrunner Records, they also changed their music style.

    • THE 69 EYES X
    • THE 69 EYES
    • X
    • CD - 7.99 EUR
    • THE 69 EYES X
    • THE 69 EYES
    • X
    • CD-Digi + DVD - 7.99 EUR
    • THE 69 EYES Back in blood
    • THE 69 EYES
    • Back in blood
    • CD - 7.99 EUR
    • THE 69 EYES Back in blood
    • THE 69 EYES
    • Back in blood
    • LP - 15.99 EUR
    • THE 69 EYES Back in blood - Vampire Edition
    • THE 69 EYES
    • Back in blood - Vampire Edition
    • CD-Digi + DVD - 7.99 EUR
    • THE 69 EYES Helsinki vampires
    • THE 69 EYES
    • Helsinki vampires
    • DVD - 16.99 EUR



With the album “Wasting The Dawn” (info | shop) the band celebrated their first chart position and the correspondent single at the Finnish single charts in 5th position. In time for the new millennium The 69 Eyes released the album “Blessed Be” (info) witch was produced in cooperation with Ville Valo. This album also entered the Top 10 of the charts. The especially successful song “Gothic Girl” that was played in many different clubs. Two years later the guys released “Paris Kills” (info).

For the first time the band climbed the summit of the Finish album charts and the single “Dance d’ Amour” was on the top of the Finish single charts for many weeks. In winter 2003 they released their best of compilation “Framed In Blood – The Very Blessed Of The 69 Eyes“ (info) and they produced their first live DVD “Helsinki Vampires” (info | shop). They also changed their label again to Major EMI who released the album “Devils“ (info), what was formed in teamwork with Johnny Lee Michaels and Hiili Hiilesmaa, in 2004.

Until 2007 The 69 Eyes didn’t ever relaxe at all and went on tour in more than 16 countries. By the way they produced enough material for their new album “Angels” (info | shop). Afterwards the album “Angels & Devils“ with an extra DVD just as the live album “Hollywood Kills – Live At The Whiskey A Go Go” (info) followed. In the end of 2008 the band released an ambitious produced box with a DVD and thee albums. The already produced CDs “Blessed be” and “Pars kills” were recorded new and got some bonus tracks, while the third album "Goth'n'Roll Archives“ exists by some demos and not released songs until there.

In August 2009 they released their album “Back In Blood” (info | shop).

The 10th The 69 EYES album "X" (info | shop) was recorded in the beginning of 2012 in Stockholm and Helsinki. It was mixed by Stefan Boman (KENT, THE HELLACOPTERS, BACKYARD BABIES) and produced by Swedish team On The Verge. It takes THE 69 EYES’ goth ’n’ roll sound back to their highlights of their albums “Paris Kills” and “Blessed Be”, yet rising the singer Jyrki’s voice as the main statement of the album. The man in black is back. THE 69 EYES rise. Again.

If you'd like to dress up your PC according to X, you find some wallpapers and a Firefox Persona right HERE!




Back to bands

THE 69 EYES

Schon einige berüchtigte Metalbands wie HIM stammen aus der Gothic-Rock-Szene des finnischen Untergrundes, doch im Jahr 1990 kristallisierte sich ein weiteres musikalisches Talent heraus: The 69 Eyes, eine Sleaze Rock Band, die aus den Jungs Jyrki Pekka Emil Linnankivi „Jyrki 69" (Vocals), Pasi Moilanen „Bazie“ und Timo Pitkänen „Timo-Timo“ (Gitarristen), Arto Väinö Ensio Ojajärvi „Archie, Archzie“ (Bassist) und Jussi Heikki Tapio Vuori (Drums), besteht, war geboren.

Das finnische Label Gaga Goodies Records wurde auf die neuartige Band aufmerksam und bat ihnen ihren ersten Plattenvertrag an. Über Gaga Goodies wurden die vier ersten Alben „Bump’n’Grind“ (1992, Info | Shop), „Motor City Resurrection“ (1994, Info | Shop), „Savage Garden“ (1995, Info | Shop) und „Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams“ (1997, Info | Shop) veröffentlicht. All diese Alben stehen nur Dezent im Zusammenhang mit den typischen Elementen des Gothic Rocks. Nachdem The 69 Eyes zu Roadrunner gewechselt hatten, änderten sie auch ihre Musikrichtung.

    • THE 69 EYES X
    • THE 69 EYES
    • X
    • CD - 7,99 EUR
    • THE 69 EYES X
    • THE 69 EYES
    • X
    • CD-Digi + DVD - 7,99 EUR
    • THE 69 EYES Back in blood
    • THE 69 EYES
    • Back in blood
    • LP - 15,99 EUR
    • THE 69 EYES Back in blood - Vampire Edition
    • THE 69 EYES
    • Back in blood - Vampire Edition
    • CD-Digi + DVD - 7,99 EUR
    • THE 69 EYES Back in blood
    • THE 69 EYES
    • Back in blood
    • CD - 7,99 EUR
    • THE 69 EYES Helsinki vampires
    • THE 69 EYES
    • Helsinki vampires
    • DVD - 16,99 EUR



Mit „Wasting The Dawn“ (Info | Shop) feiert die Band ihre erste Chartplatzierung. Mit dem gleichnamigen Song, bei dem Ville Valo als Backgroundsänger tätig war, erreichten sie Platz 5 in den finnischen Singlechart. Pünktlich zum neuen Jahrtausend veröffentlichen The 69 Eyes das Album „Blessed Be“ (Info), das erneut in Zusammenarbeit mit Ville Valo produziert wurde und sich ebenfalls in den Top 10 der Charts aufhielt. Besonders großen Erfolg hatte der Track „Gothic Girl“, der in verschiedenen Clubs rauf und runter gespielt wurde. Nachdem sich die Jungs etwas in ihrem Ruhm gesonnt hatten, veröffentlichen sie 2 Jahre später die Scheibe „Paris Kills“ (Info).

Zum ersten Mal erreichten The 69 Eyes Platz 1 der finnischen Albumcharts und auch die Single „Dance d’Amour“ stand über mehrere Wochen an der Spitze der finnischen Singlecharts. Im Winter 2003 stand schon die erste Best-Of-Compilation „Framed In Blood – The Very Blessed Of The 69 Eyes“ (Info), und auch ihre erste Live DVD „Helsinki Vampires“ (Info | Shop) mit Aufnahmen des Auftritts im Club „Tavastia“ wurde produziert. Ebenso wechselte die Band erneut ihr Label zu Major EMI, die 2004 das Album „Devils“ (Info) veröffentlichten, das in Zusammenarbeit mit Johnny Lee Michaels und Hiili Hiilesmaa entstand.

The 69 Eyes ruhten sich keineswegs auf der faulen Haut aus und gingen bis 2007 in über 16 verschiedenen Ländern auf Tour! Nebenbei produzierten sie genug Material um ihre Scheibe „Angels“ (Info | Shop), bei dem auch Apocalyptica einen Part dazu leisteten, zu veröffentlichen. Anschließend folgt das Album „Angels & Devils“ mit einer Bonus DVD, ebenso wie die Livescheibe „Hollywood Kills – Live At The Whiskey A Go Go“ (2008, Info). Ende des Jahres 2008 bringen 69 Eyes eine sehr anspruchsvoll produzierte Box mit einer DVD und drei Scheiben auf den Markt, bei dem die bereits produzierten Album „Blessed Be“ und „Paris Kills“ neu aufgenommen wurden und zusätzlich noch einige Bonustracks entwickelt wurden. Das dritte Album der Box „Goth'n'Roll Archives“ verfügt über einige Demos und bisher nicht herausgebrachte Aufnahmen.
Ein ebenso besonderer Bonus der Box ist das 28seitig lange Booklet. Im August 2009 wurde dann das Album „Back In Blood“ (Info | Shop) veröffentlicht, zu dem die Videosingle „Dead Girls Are Easy“ schon vor der Veröffentlichung des Albums bei playboy.com angeschaut werden konnte.

Das 10te Album der 69 EYES "X" (Info | Shop) wurde in Stockholm und Helsinki im Frühjahr 2012 aufgenommen. Es wurde vom schwedischem Team On The Verge produziert, von Stefan Boman (KENT, THE HELLACOPTERS, BACKYARD BABIES) abgemischt und bringt den THE 69 EYES’ Goth ’n’ Roll Sound zu ihren Highlights von Alben wie “Blessed Be” und “Paris Kills” zurück.

Wer seinen Computer ausstatten möchte mit X-Grafiken, der findet HIER Bilschirmhintergründe und eine Firefox-Persona!



zurück zur Bandübersicht