THERION

The band was founded in 1987 by Christofer Johnsson and started off with recoding a few demos and the mini LP „Time Shall Tell“.

THERION’s debut “Of Darkness…“ (Info | Shop) was released in 1991 and was a huge success for the band within the underground Metal scene. THERION began as a very creative Death Metal band, pushing limits of the contemporary sound and grew beyond themselves. In the course of the years, the bands style developed in a quite unique way and between 1991 and 1996 THERION released groundbreaking records, one being more special than the other.

    • THERION Theli
    • THERION
    • Theli
    • CD - 7.99 EUR
    • THERION Vovin
    • THERION
    • Vovin
    • CD - 14.99 EUR
    • THERION Deggial
    • THERION
    • Deggial
    • CD - 4.99 EUR
    • THERION Adulruna rediviva and beyond
    • THERION
    • Adulruna rediviva and beyond
    • 3DVD Digibook - 24.99 EUR
    • THERION Adulruna rediviva and beyond + LANYARD + PASS
    • THERION
    • Adulruna rediviva and beyond + LANYARD + PASS
    • 3DVD Digibook - 26.99 EUR
    • THERION Theli DELUXE EDITION WHITE VINYL
    • THERION
    • Theli DELUXE EDITION WHITE VINYL
    • 2LP - 21.99 EUR
    • THERION Theli DELUXE EDITION BLACK VINYL
    • THERION
    • Theli DELUXE EDITION BLACK VINYL
    • 2LP - 19.99 EUR
    • THERION Theli DELUXE EDITION
    • THERION
    • Theli DELUXE EDITION
    • CD-Digi + DVD - 15.99 EUR
    • THERION Sitra ahra
    • THERION
    • Sitra ahra
    • CD - 7.99 EUR
    • THERION Sitra ahra
    • THERION
    • Sitra ahra
    • CD-Digi - 7.99 EUR
    • THERION Sitra ahra CLEAR VINYL
    • THERION
    • Sitra ahra CLEAR VINYL
    • 2LP - 19.99 EUR
    • THERION The miskolc experience LTD. DIGIPAK
    • THERION
    • The miskolc experience LTD. DIGIPAK
    • 2CD-Digi + DVD - 24.99 EUR
    • THERION Live Gothic
    • THERION
    • Live Gothic
    • DVD-Digi + 2CD - 12.99 EUR
    • THERION Celebrators of becoming 4DVD+2CD
    • THERION
    • Celebrators of becoming 4DVD+2CD
    • DVD-Boxset - 34.99 EUR
    • THERION Gothic kabbalah
    • THERION
    • Gothic kabbalah
    • 2CD-Digi - 7.99 EUR
    • THERION Gothic kabbalah
    • THERION
    • Gothic kabbalah
    • 2CD - 7.99 EUR
    • THERION Atlantis lucid dreaming
    • THERION
    • Atlantis lucid dreaming
    • CD - 4.99 EUR

After a few lineup changes, making Christofer the only original member to remain, THERION released “Theli” (Info | Shop), which would be the ultimate breakthrough for the band. At this time THERION turned towards a more opera-like, progressive and even orchestral sound. “Vovin” (Info | Shop), the bestselling record to date (125 00 copies worldwide) came out in 1998. The development of sound saw a new peak, as for the first time ever THERION worked together with a real symphonic orchestra. Due to newly lineup issues, Christofer, with the help of a few studio musicians, recorded this record by himself and more or less considers “Vovin” as a solo record.

“Deggial“ (Info | Shop) is dominated by the new style of catchy symphonic opera metal Christofer invented. With new band members Kristian and Johann Niemann and THERION embark their first ever headline tour together with Voivod. A year later the band puts out “Secrets Of The Runes”, their first concept album, dealing with Nordic myths and influenced by Scandinavian Folk music.

In 2002 THERION celebrate their 15ths anniversary by recording the live album “Live In Midgard” (Info) and shortly after begin working on new material for the double record “Lemuria“/“Sirius B“. Hitting the German charts on #63, THERION went on an incredibly world tour, available to watch on the “Celebrators Of Becoming” DVD. During the last couple of years THERION engaged themselves with the recording of “Gothic Kabbalah” (2007, Info | Shop), “Live Gothic” (2008, Info | Shop) and “The Miskolc Experience” (2009,Info).

After that Christofer decided it was time for a change: “Sitra Ahra” (2010, Info | Shop) was done with a completely new lineup, among the new members was legendary Swedish vocalist Thomas Vikström (ex-CANDLEMASS), who has already been welcomed by the fans on the previous THERION live shows. ”Sitra Ahra“ is an inspiring creation, with cultural and religious topics and the yet again profound and fascinating lyrics of Thomas Karlsson. A blend of symphonic Metal, classical influences and timeless Rock structuring!

In 2014 the Deluxe Edition CD + DVD of their classic “Theli” (Info | Shop) as well as the 3DVD “Adulruna Redivia And Beyond” (Info | Shop) (the limited editions contains a third bonus DVD) will be released.



Back to bands

THERION

Die Band wurde 1987 von Christofer Johnsson gegründet und begann mit der Aufnahme einiger Demobänder und der Mini LP „Time Shall Tell“.

THERION’s Debüt „Of Darkness…“ (Info | Shop) wurde 1991 veröffentlicht und heimste der Band den ersten Erfolg in der Untergrund Metalszene ein. THERION startete als eine sehr kreative Death Metal Band, die sich mit der Zeit ihren Sound erweiterten und über sich hinaus wuchsen. Im Laufe der Jahre entwickelte sich der Stil der Band zu etwas besonderem und so veröffentlichten THERION in den Jahren 1991 bis 1996 bahnbrechende Platten, bei denen eines spezieller wie das andere war.

    • THERION Theli
    • THERION
    • Theli
    • CD - 7,99 EUR
    • THERION Vovin
    • THERION
    • Vovin
    • CD - 14,99 EUR
    • THERION Deggial
    • THERION
    • Deggial
    • CD - 3,99 EUR
    • THERION Adulruna rediviva and beyond
    • THERION
    • Adulruna rediviva and beyond
    • 3DVD Digibook - 24,99 EUR
    • THERION Adulruna rediviva and beyond + LANYARD + PASS
    • THERION
    • Adulruna rediviva and beyond + LANYARD + PASS
    • 3DVD Digibook - 26,99 EUR
    • THERION Theli DELUXE EDITION WHITE VINYL
    • THERION
    • Theli DELUXE EDITION WHITE VINYL
    • 2LP - 21,99 EUR
    • THERION Theli DELUXE EDITION BLACK VINYL
    • THERION
    • Theli DELUXE EDITION BLACK VINYL
    • 2LP - 19,99 EUR
    • THERION Theli DELUXE EDITION
    • THERION
    • Theli DELUXE EDITION
    • CD-Digi + DVD - 15,99 EUR
    • THERION Sitra ahra
    • THERION
    • Sitra ahra
    • CD-Digi - 7,99 EUR
    • THERION Sitra ahra
    • THERION
    • Sitra ahra
    • CD - 7,99 EUR
    • THERION Live Gothic
    • THERION
    • Live Gothic
    • DVD-Digi + 2CD - 9,99 EUR
    • THERION Celebrators of becoming 4DVD+2CD
    • THERION
    • Celebrators of becoming 4DVD+2CD
    • DVD-Boxset - 32,99 EUR
    • THERION Gothic kabbalah
    • THERION
    • Gothic kabbalah
    • 2CD - 7,99 EUR
    • THERION Gothic kabbalah
    • THERION
    • Gothic kabbalah
    • 2CD-Digi - 7,99 EUR
    • THERION Atlantis lucid dreaming
    • THERION
    • Atlantis lucid dreaming
    • CD - 3,99 EUR
    • THERION Secret of the runes
    • THERION
    • Secret of the runes
    • CD - 14,99 EUR



Nach einigen Line-Up-Wechseln, nach denen Christofer als einziges ursprüngliches Mitglied in der Band blieb, veröffentlichte THERION 1996 das Album „Theli“ (Info | Shop), das der Band den ultimativen Durchbruch bescherte. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt beschränkten THERION sich mehr auf einen mehr opernartigeren, progressiveren und sogar orientalischeren Sound. „Vovin“ (Info | Shop), das bisher meistverkaufte Album (125 000 Exemplare weltweit) , wurde 1998 veröffentlicht. Die Entwicklung ihres Sounds hat nun ihren neuen Höhepunkt erreicht, denn THERION nutzten zum ersten Mal ein echtes symphonisches Orchester. Aufgrund erneuter Besetzungsprobleme nahm Christofer, mit der Hilfe von einigen Studio-Musikern, diese CD auf eigene Faust auf und betrachtet „Vovin“ mehr oder weniger als ein Soloalbum.

Deggial“ (Info | Shop) ist geprägt von Christofers neu erfundenen Stil von weiterem eingängigen symphonischen Opernmetal. Mit den neuen Bandmitgliedern Kristian und Johann NIeman gehen THERION zusammen mit Voivod auf ihre erste Headliner Tour. Ein Jahr später veröffentlicht die Band „Secret Of The Runes“, ihr erstes Konzeptalbum, das sich auf die Behandlung von Nordischen Mythen ausrichtet und stark von der skandinavischen Folk Musik beeinflusst ist.

Im Jahr 2002 feierten THERION ihren 15ten Geburtstag mit der Aufnahme von dem Livealbum „Live in Midgard“ (Info) und kurz danach begannen sie an neuem Material zu arbeiten, das für das Doppelalbum „Lemuria“/“Sirius B“ gedacht war. Die Scheibe stieg in den deutschen Charts auf Platz 63, gefolgt von einer unglaublichen Welttournee, die auf der DVD „Celebrators Of Becoming“ zu sehen ist. In den letzten paar Jahren waren THERION mit den Aufnahmen von „Gothic Kabbalah“ (2007, Info | Shop), der „Live Gothic“ Disc (2008, Info | Shop) und der Scheibe „The Miskolc Experience“ (2009,Info) beschäftigt.

Danach entschied Christofer etwas zu verändern: „Sitra Ahra“ (2010, Info | Shop) wurde mit einem komplett neuen Line-Up aufgenommen, unter anderem mit der schwedischen Sängerlegende Thomas Vikström (ex-CANDLEMASS), der schon bei den letzten Live Shows von THERION bei den Fans mit offenen Armen begrüßt wurde. „Sitra Ahra“ ist eine inspirierende Aufnahme, die kulturelle und religiöse Themen anspricht, Thomas Karlsson ist wieder einmal verantwortlich für diese tiefgängigen und faszinierenden Texte! Eine Mischung aus symphonischen Metal, klassischen Einflüssen und zeitlosen Rockstrukturen!

Im Jahr 2014 erscheint die Deluxe Edition CD + DVD ihres Klassikers „Theli" (Info | Shop) sowie ein 3-DVD Paket (in der limitierten Edition inkl. der dritten Bonus DVD) namens „Adulruna Redivia And Beyond" (Info | Shop).



zurück zur Bandübersicht
Ähnliche Bands