TANKARD

In 1982, when four longhaired metal maniacs from Frankfurt am Main, Germany decided to found a band named TANKARD, nobody expected them to still be going three decades later. Not to mention being at the top of the German thrash metal scene! But they are still alive and kicking, and throughout these years there’s barely been a blip in their path! Today, when the routine of breaking-up, making a “reunion” and disappearing again seems to be the order of play for bands, TANKARD never joined this course of action and kept holding their flag of thrash metal high: a very respectable effort! NOT ONE DAY DEAD!

Page of

This is why the founders of “alcoholic metal” can now celebrate their 35th anniversary in 2017 with their 17th studio album entitled »One Foot In The Grave« - cheers!

However, it is no longer like the magazine Stern wrote in 1988 in a large feature about the “heavy metal subculture”: “Their music sounds like a full train containing beer jugs jumping the rails.” For despite their humour, you should never underestimate the musical proficiency of TANKARD. The band, who has kept on releasing powerful albums, has achieved the title of “cult band” with all-time classics like '(Empty) Tankard', 'The Morning After' and 'Chemical Invasion'. Sold out club shows, tours in South America and Asia, performances at the biggest metal festivals of the world (Wacken Open Air, Hellfest, Graspop Metal Meeting, Summer Breeze) as well as their recent chart entries perfectly illustrate their popularity.

And even when the album title suggests, this is not the end! TANKARD’s sound is still full of creativity, freshness and aggressiveness. Songs like 'Syrian Nightmare', 'Arena Of The True Lies' or the title track 'One Foot In the Grave' continue their run of classics. This time, the album is also going to have a serious streak; not only filled with humour but criticising today’s society. Even the traditional beer song 'Secret Order 1516' displays some critical elements. But don’t worry: fans of the typical TANKARD humour won’t be disappointed! With songs like 'Sole Grinder', the band hasn’t forgotten their raison d'être. This song pays tribute to the band’s manager Buffo Schnädelbach (Gerre: “The funniest choleric person in Germany”) in an ironic way.

Even if a lot has changed over the last three decades, one thing has remained the same: TANKARD are four metal maniacs from Frankfurt - authentic, loud and sometimes drunk. And this will likely stay the same for the next 35 years!

TANKARD

Als sich im Jahr 1982 vier langhaarige Metal Maniacs in Frankfurt am Main dazu entschlossen haben, eine Band namens TANKARD (engl. für „Bierkrug“) zu gründen, ahnte wohl keiner der Beteiligten, dass es die Gruppe über drei Jahrzehnte später noch immer geben würde, geschweige denn, dass die Band sich zur Speerspitze des deutsche Thrash Metal mausern würde. Doch es gibt sie noch! Und das ohne Unterbrechung. Im Zeitalter zahlloser „Reunion-Phantome“, die mal kurz aus der Gruft schießen, die Hand aufhalten, um dann wieder zu Staub zerfallen, hielten TANKARD die Flagge des Thrash Metal unerbittlich nach oben: eine respektable Leistung! NOT ONE DAY DEAD!

Seite von
  • TANKARD Schwarz-weiß wie Schnee BLACK VINYL TANKARD
    Schwarz-weiß wie Schnee BLACK VINYL
    7"EP - 7,99 EUR
  • TANKARD One foot in the grave BLACK VINYL TANKARD
    One foot in the grave BLACK VINYL
    LP - 17,99 EUR
  • TANKARD One foot in the grave TANKARD
    One foot in the grave
    CD - 14,99 EUR 9,99 EUR
  • TANKARD R.I.B. TANKARD
    R.I.B.
    CD - 9,99 EUR 7,77 EUR
  • TANKARD R.I.B. TANKARD
    R.I.B.
    CD-Digi + DVD - 9,99 EUR 7,77 EUR
  • TANKARD A girl called Cerveza TANKARD
    A girl called Cerveza
    CD - 9,99 EUR 7,77 EUR
  • TANKARD A girl called Cerveza MAILORDER EDITION TANKARD
    A girl called Cerveza MAILORDER EDITION
    CD-Boxset - 24,99 EUR
  • TANKARD A girl called Cerveza TANKARD
    A girl called Cerveza
    CD-Digi + DVD - 9,99 EUR 7,77 EUR

Und so feiern die Erfinder der sinnbefreiten Stilrichtung „Alcoholic Metal“ im Jahr 2017 mit ihrem 17. Studioalbum »One Foot In The Grave« ein beinahe unglaubliches Jubelfest: Wir erheben unsere Humpen auf 35 Jahre TANKARD.

Jedoch ist es längst nicht mehr so, wie der Stern 1988 in einem größeren Feature über die „Subkultur Heavy Metal“ schrieb: „Ihre Musik klingt als würde ein vollbeladener Zug mit Bierkrügen entgleisen.“ Denn trotz allem Humor darf man TANKARD auf musikalischer Ebene keineswegs unterschätzen. Die Band brachte kontinuierlich starke Alben auf den Markt und hat sich nicht zuletzt mit Alltime-Classics wie '(Empty) Tankard', 'The Morning After' oder 'Chemical Invasion' den Status als Kultband mehr als verdient. Ausverkaufte Clubshows, Tourneen in Südamerika und Asien, Auftritte auf den größten Metal-Festivals der Welt (Wacken Open Air, Hellfest, Graspop Metal Meeting, Summer Breeze…) sowie die jüngsten Charterfolge zeugen von der Popularität der Frankfurter Urgesteine.

Und auch wenn der Titel des neuen Albums etwas anderes mutmaßen lässt, TANKARD klingen im 35. Jahr keineswegs nach Ruhestand: Das neue Album sprüht vor Ideenreichtum, Frische und Aggressivität. Songs wie 'Syrian Nightmare', 'Arena Of The True Lies' oder der Titeltrack 'One Foot In The Grave' reihen sich nahtlos in die lange Reihe der Bandklassiker ein. Zudem lassen Gerre & Co. dieses Mal den Spaß wortwörtlich beiseite und packen die gesellschaftskritische Keule aus. Selbst der traditionelle Biersong 'Secret Order 1516' wurde mit Sozialkritik gewürzt. Fans des TANKARD-typischen Humors kommen bei 'Sole Grinder' allerdings trotzdem auf ihre Kosten. Der Song ist eine Hommage an Bandmanager Buffo Schnädelbach (Gerre: „Deutschlands lustigster Choleriker“) - natürlich mit einem gewohnten Augenzwinkern.
Auch wenn sich im Laufe der letzten drei Dekaden vieles geändert hat, eines ist noch genau wie am Anfang: TANKARD sind vier Metal Maniacs aus Frankfurt - authentisch, laut und manchmal betrunken. Und daran wird sich auch in den nächsten 35 Jahren nichts ändern!



Ähnliche Artikel