OPETH

An unstoppable force for uniqueness amid a sea of generic swill, OPETH have been setting the rulebook ablaze and ploughing a uniquely progressive and exploratory furrow for nearly 25 years now. Formed in Stockholm in 1990, the band led by singer, guitarist and songwriter Mikael Åkerfeldt began life as maverick and honorary members of the then flourishing Swedish death metal scene, but from their earliest recordings onwards this band have neither conformed nor exhibited any desire to be restricted to a single genre.

Page of
  • OPETH Pale communion OPETH
    Pale communion
    CD-Digi + Blu-ray - 18.99 EUR
  • OPETH Deliverance OPETH
    Deliverance
    CD - 9.99 EUR
  • OPETH Blackwater park OPETH
    Blackwater park
    CD - 9.99 EUR
  • OPETH Lamentations (Live at Shepherd's Bush London) OPETH
    Lamentations (Live at Shepherd's Bush London)
    3LP - 29.99 EUR
  • OPETH Still life OPETH
    Still life
    2LP - 26.99 EUR
  • OPETH Ghost reveries OPETH
    Ghost reveries
    CD - 17.99 EUR 5.99 EUR

Displaying a relentless lust for evolutionary motion, OPETH’s first three albums – Orchid (1995), Morningrise (1996) and My Arms, Your Hearse (1998) - set the band firmly apart from everything else that was happening in metal during the 90s. Instinctively brave and effortlessly mysterious, these were groundbreaking records that could be superficially described as ‘progressive death metal’, but which were plainly much more than that: a singular expression of a profound love for music in its bewildering entirety that served the band extremely well over the decades that followed. By the time OPETH released Still Life in 1999 (prompting a spiritual and professional bond with prog icon Steven Wilson that survives to this day) they were simply in a class of their own, taking metal into uncharted territory as a matter of habit as they skilfully weaved all manner of disparate influences into their unmistakable trademark sound.

An instant classic that has gone on to become one of the most revered albums in recent history, 2001’s Blackwater Park proved to be a decisive moment in OPETH’s career, leading them to a succession of extensive tours around the globe and ensuring that the band were universally hailed as something very special indeed. With Åkerfeldt’s musical vision and refusal to kow-tow to current trends propelling them breathlessly forward, the band moved on through the two-headed derring-do of 2002’s Deliverance and its startlingly mellow and pointedly non-metallic follow-up Damnation (2003), enhancing their credentials as true inheritors of progressive rock’s restless spirit along the way. Perfecting their established sound on 2005’s Ghost Reveries and bending it into warped and disturbing shapes on the critically acclaimed Watershed in 2008, OPETH entered their third decade with a formidable reputation and a huge international fan base. A sold out show at London’s legendary Royal Albert Hall (later documented on a special live album and DVD) signified that the band were now fully deserving of their status as true greats of the modern age.

And then in 2011, with typical audacity, they released their tenth album, Heritage. Although most fans were immediately entranced by the album’s daring reinvention of the OPETH sound, its contents were hugely adventurous and took the band ever further into an experimental realm that most of their contemporaries would never have even considered, let alone conquered with such breathtaking aplomb. Eschewing the death metal vocal style that had long been a part of their arsenal, Åkerfeldt and his band mates were torching the rulebook once again. Yet more tours followed, including some jaw-dropping acoustic shows that threw fresh light on the whole OPETH experience, and despite a smattering of negative reactions from truculent purists, the Heritage era signalled a heartening revitalization of a band now more than two decades old. And that glorious creative rejuvenation also continued on the band’s eleventh studio album, 2014’s Pale Communion.This album expanded OPETH’s sonic palette beyond all measure while still retaining that mercurial essence that first made them such a unique proposition. Pale Communion is a record that came together intuitively and without compromise, driven forward by the magical chemistry between all five members of the band.

2016 it is time for „Sorceress“, and everyone is anxiously awaiting what the 12th record has to offer. The first album for Nuclear Blast via the band’s imprint label Moderbolaget Records, is proof chief architect Mikael Åkerfeldt has a near-endless well of greatness inside. OPETH’s twelfth full-length is an unparalleled adventure, where visions cleverly and secretly change, colors mute as if weathered by time, and sounds challenge profoundly.

OPETH

Eine unaufhaltsame Kraft der Einzigartigkeit in einem Meer von fadem Gesöff sind OPETH, die seit inzwischen mehr als 25 Jahren das Regelwerk in die Tonne kloppen und einen einzigartig progressiven und experimentierfreudigen Acker pflügen. In Stockholm 1990 gegründet, begann das Leben der von Sänger, Gitarrist und Songwriter Mikael Åkerfeldt angeführten Truppe als Querdenker und Ehrenmitglieder der damals blühenden schwedischen Death Metal Szene, jedoch war diese Band von ihren frühesten Aufnahmen an weder konform noch einem einzelnen Genre zuzuordnen.

OPETHs erste drei Alben, die einen unnachgiebigen Drang zu einer evolutionären Bewegung an den Tag legten („Orchid“ (1995), „Morningrise“ (1996) und „My Arms, Your Hearse“ (1998)), hoben die Band nachdrücklich von dem sonstigen Metal-Geschehen der 90er ab. Instinktiv mutig und mühelos geheimnisvoll waren diese bahnbrechende Platten, die oberflächlich als ‚Progressive Death Metal‘ beschrieben werden könnten, die aber deutlich mehr waren als das: eine einmalige Bekundung einer tief gehenden Liebe zur Musik in ihrer verblüffenden Gesamtheit, die der Band über die nächsten Jahrzehnte extrem guttun würde. Als OPETH „Still Life“ 1999 herausbrachte (was eine spirituelle und professionelle Verbindung mit der Progressive-Ikone Steven Wilson hervorbrachte), spielten sie schon in einer ganz eigenen Liga und brachten, aus Gewohnheit schon, Metal in unerforschte Gebiete, indem sie jede Menge auseinandergehende Einflüsse geschickt in ihren Markenzeichen-Sound zusammenflochten.

Ein sofortiger Klassiker, der zu einem der meistverehrten Alben der jüngsten Geschichte heranwuchs, war „Blackwater Park“ (2001), was einen entscheidenden Moment in OPETHs Karriere bezeichnete, der zu einer Vielzahl ausgiebiger Touren um den Erdball führte und sicherstellte, dass die Band allgemeinhin als etwas sehr Besonderes gefeiert wird. Mit Åkerfeldts musikalischer Vision und Zurückweisung des Anbiederns an aktuelle Trends, die sie ohne Pause voranbrachten, rückte die Band voran zu zwei aufeinanderfolgenden Heldentaten, dem 2002er „Deliverance“ und seinem überraschend sanftem und gezielt nicht-metallischem Nachfolger „Damnation“ (2003) , nicht ohne unterwegs ihren Status als wahre Erben des ruhelosen Geistes des Progressive Rock auszubauen. OPETH perfektionierten ihren bewährten Sound im 2005er „Ghost Reveries“ und formten ihn in verzogene und beunruhigende Gestalten auf dem hoch gelobten „Watershed“ (2008) um. Sie begannen ihr drittes Jahrzehnt mit einem respekteinflößenden Ruf und einer riesigen internationalen Fan Base. Eine ausverkaufte Show in Londons legendärer Royal Albert Hall (später auf einem besonderen Livealbum mit DVD zu sehen) bedeutete, dass die Band voll und ganz ihrem Status als wahre Größen des modernen Zeitalters gerecht wurde.

Und dann in 2011, mit typischer Dreistigkeit, veröffentlichten sie ihr zehntes Album, „Heritage“. Obwohl die meisten Fans sofort von der wagemutigen Neuerfindung des OPETH’schen Sounds hingerissen waren, schlug die Band mit seinem sehr abenteuerlichen Inhalt auch einen noch experimentelleren Kurs ein, den die meisten ihrer Zeitgenossen nie auch nur in Betracht gezogen hätte, ganz zu schweigen mit solch atemberaubender Gelassenheit für sich beansprucht hätten. Den Death-Metal-Gesangsstil aus ihrem altgedienten Arsenal meidend, zündelten Åkerfeldt und seine Genossen wieder am Regelwerk herum. Noch mehr Touren folgten, inklusive einiger Kinnladen ausrenkender Acoustic-Auftritte, die frisches Licht auf das ganze OPETH-Erlebnis warfen, und trotz vereinzelter negativer Reaktionen von trotzigen Puristen, leitete die Heritage-Ära eine ermutigende Auffrischung einer mehr als zwei Jahrzehnte alten Band ein. Und diese glorreiche kreative Verjüngung setzte sich auf dem elften Studioalbum der Band, dem 2014er „Pale Communion“ auch fort. Dieses Album erweiterte Opeths klangliche Palette um Längen und wahrte dabei trotzdem das lebhafte Wesen, was sie zu Anfang schon zu einem einzigartigen Unterfangen machte. Pale Communion ist eine Platte, die intuitiv und kompromisslos zusammenkam, vorwärtsgetrieben von der magischen Chemie zwischen allen fünf Bandmitgliedern.

2016 ist die Zeit für „Sorceress“ gekommen, und alle blicken gespannt darauf, was das zwölfte Album zu bieten hat. Das Album stellt die erste Zusammenarbeit mit Nuclear Blast über das bandeigene Label Moderbolaget Records dar und ist der Beweis, dass Chefarchitekt Mikael Åkerfeldt niemals versiegende Inspirationsquellen in sich trägt. OPETHs zwölfter Longplayer ist ein grandioses Abenteuer, das den Blick verändert, Farben vor dem Auge verstummen lässt und Raum und Zeit komplett aushebelt.